AEA Logo
American Stage Actors
AEA home page
News and Media

Member Portal

  Communication Dept.
  Press Room
  News Links
  Filming & Taping
  Annual Study

    Posted November 28, 2008

< Return to 2008 Archives

2008 Ovation Awards Honor Equity Actors, Theatres in Los Angeles

Robert Townsend (Best Actor, Musical) with Nick DeGruchio (Best Actor Musical nominee) from Jekyll & Hyde

Excitement and glamour marked this year's 2008 Ovation Awards, which took place at the Harriet and Charles Luckman Fine Arts complex at Cal State in Los Angeles, on November 17, 2008. These annual awards honor outstanding excellence by greater Los Angeles theatre artists from the prior theatrical season. Once again, AEA member served as emcee.

Actors' Equity, a sponsor of this year's gala, was proudly represented by WRB Councillor Vernon Willet and Business Representative Ivan Rivas.

The following AEA actors took home 2008 Ovation Awards:

Nilaja Sun
Best Solo Performance, NO CHILD, Center Theatre Group

Stan Chandler, David Engel, Larry Raben, Darcie Roberts
Best Ensemble, THE ANDREWS BROTHERS, Musical Theatre West

John Glover
Lead Actor (Play) SECRETS OF THE TRADE, Black Dahlia Theatre

Joe Spano
Lead Actor (Play), R. BUCKMINSTER FULLER, Rubicon Theatre

Laurie Metcalf
Lead Actress (Play), THE QUALITY OF LIFE, Geffen Playhouse

Robert J. Townsend
Lead Actor (Musical), JEKYLL & HYDE, Cabrillo Music Theatre

J. Nicole Brooks
Features Actress (Play), AS MUCH AS YOU CAN, Hendel Productions

Randy Rogel
Featured Actor (Musical), SINGIN' IN THE RAIN, Cabrillo Music Theatre

Gwen Stewart
Featured Actress (Musical), ALL SHOOK UP, Musical Theatre West

Among the multiple award winning Equity theatres were Cabrillo Music Theatre (18 Ovation Awards), Rubicon Theatre Company (17), Musical Theatre West (16) and Center Theatre Group (15).

Kudos to all of the Equity nominees and winners.

Karyl Lynn Burns and Western Region Councillor Vernon Willet represented AEA

Best Director (Musical) nominee Roger Bean (WINTER WONDERETTES)

Back to Actors' Equity News Index

Home | Members Only | About Equity | Member Benefits | Document Library
FAQ | News and Media | Membership Department | Contact

© 2018 . Actors' Equity Association. Terms of Use | Privacy