AEA Logo
American Stage Actors
AEA home page
News and Media

Member Portal

  Communication Dept.
  Press Room
  News Links
  Filming & Taping
  Annual Study

    Posted September 1, 2010

< return to 2010 archives

Denver Holds 5th Annual Henry Awards

By: Shelly Gaza - Chair, Denver Area Liaison Committee

WRD Mary Lou Westerfield and Arvada Artistic Producer Rod Lansberry

The fifth annual Henry Awards, celebrating excellence in Colorado theatre, was held on July 19, 2010. Sponsored by the Colorado Theatre Guild, this year's ceremony was held at the Space Theatre, located within the Denver Center for the Performing Arts complex.

The Henry Awards are named for Henry Lowenstein, and honor his long time commitment to Denver area theatre. Mr. Lowenstein was a 30 year fixture at Denver's Bonfils Theatre, which, in 1985, was renamed the Lowenstein Theatre. Mr. Lowenstein is also the founder of the Denver Civic Theatre and the Colorado Theatre Guild.

WRD Mary Lou Westerfield and Leading Actress Honoree Billie McBride

Notable among the evening's winners were AEA members Billie McBride (Lead Actress in a Play), EJ Zimmerman (Lead Actress in a Musical), Kevin Vortmann (Lead Actor in a Musical), Jean-Pierre Serret (Supporting Actor in a Play), and The Arvada Center which won several honors for its production of MISS SAIGON, and The Denver Center Theatre Company which received multiple nods for its production of MARIELA IN THE DESERT. Also honored this year was Bill McHale, who received the Henry Award for Lifetime Achievement. Mr. McHale was the founder of Denver's Country Dinner Playhouse, and is often credited with bringing Equity theatre to Colorado.

Actor's Equity Association was a proud sponsor of this year's Henry Awards. Because of the contribution, the Denver area AEA community received notable recognition and exposure within the wider Colorado theatre community.

The Denver Area Liaison Committee and Lifetime Achivement Honoree Bill McHale (center)

back to Actors' Equity News Index

Home | Members Only | About Equity | Member Benefits | Document Library
FAQ | News and Media | Membership Department | Contact

© 2018 . Actors' Equity Association. Terms of Use | Privacy