AEA Logo
American Stage Actors
AEA home page
News and Media

Member Portal

  Communication Dept.
  Press Room
  News Links
  Filming & Taping
  Annual Study

    Posted April 14, 2010

< return to 2010 archives

The Column Awards Presents Annual Awards

Equity Actors honored by Dallas-Fort Worth theater community

L - R - Dennis Yslas (Vice-President The Column Awards, AEA Liaison Committee member,) Connie Coit-Kitchens (AEA Liaison Committee member, 2009 Column Awards Nominee,) Ron Bohmer (Co-Host, AEA member,) Pam Dougherty (AEA Liaison Committee Chair, 2009 Column Awards winner,) Sharon Garrison (AEA Liaison Committee) and John Garcia (Executive Director, Co-Host - The Column Awards.)

Dallas, Texas - March 9, 2010 - The Column Awards, a 501(c)3 nonprofit honoring excellence in theatre in the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex, presented its 11th annual awards last night in Carpenter Hall at the Irving Arts Center. 17 theaters companies shared 62 awards, divided between Equity and non-Equity productions.

The evening, hosted by The Column Awards founder and President John Garcia and AEA member Ron Bohmer (RAGTIME, WOMAN IN WHITE, THE SCARLET PIMPERNEL) kicked off with the largest opening production number in the show's history. "Sing, Sing, Sing," choreographed by AEA member, C. Nicholas Morris, featured more than 20 dancers and actors and was set in "The Column Club," the theme for the evening. Mr. Bohmer wowed the crowd with "This is the Moment" from JEKYLL & HYDE and closed the evening with "Music of the Night" from THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA, a role played by Mr. Bohmer in the long-running Los Angeles company of the Andrew Lloyd Webber megahit musical. The evening also included performances from many of the nominees for Best Musical in both the Equity and non-Equity divisions.

Executive Vice-President of The Column Awards, and Actors' Equity Association Dallas-Fort Worth Liaison Committee member, Dennis Yslas said, "The Column Awards has a proud history of honoring Equity productions and members in their own division, and we are pleased that so many members received awards this year. We also are grateful for the continued partnership with AEA, which graciously purchases an ad in our program and sponsors the Liaison Committee to attend the gala."

The evening's top Equity honors were taken in the Best Play category by The History Boys produced by Uptown Players, and, in the Best Musical category, The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee produced by Theatre Three. AEA members taking home awards were:

  • Jeffrey Schmidt: Scenic Design of a Musical-THE 25TH ANNUAL PUTNAM COUNTY SPELLING BEE, Theatre Three

  • Doug Miller: Stage Manager of a Musical-THE 25TH ANNUAL PUTNAM COUNTY SPELLING BEE, Theatre Three

  • Pam Dougherty (AEA Liaison Chair): Featured Actress in a Musical-GREY GARDENS, Water Tower Theatre

  • Wendy Welch: Supporting Actress in a Play-THE HISTORY BOYS, Uptown Players

  • Liz Mikel: Actress in a Play-A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM, Dallas Theater Center

  • Bradley Campbell: Actor in a Play-THE HISTORY BOYS, Uptown Players

  • Diana Sheehan: Actress in a Musical-GREY GARDENS, Water Tower Theatre

Equity contract theaters receiving awards were:

  • Uptown Players-10 awards

  • Theatre Three-9 awards

  • Flower Mound Performing Arts Theatre-3 awards

  • Dallas Theater Center-2 awards

  • Water Tower Theatre-2 awards

  • Contemporary Theatre of Dallas-1 award

A complete list of winners can be found at

Nominees and winners are selected by readers of "The Column," a national entertainment newsletter distributed via the Internet. From a pool of 80 eligible musicals and 140 eligible plays, six nominees were chosen in 59 categories, split into Equity and non-Equity divisions. The majority of subscribers are local theater artists-actors, producers, designers, choreographers, etc.-but the subscribership also includes many theatergoers and lovers of the art of theater.

More than an awards show, the organization is the only awards organization in the United States to be a major fundraiser for Broadway Cares/Equity Fights AIDS (BC/EFA), the nation's leading industry-based HIV/AIDS fundraising and grant-making organization. Each year all money raised (after operating costs) goes to BC/EFA.

Press contact: John Garcia

back to Actors' Equity News Index

Home | Members Only | About Equity | Member Benefits | Document Library
FAQ | News and Media | Membership Department | Contact

© 2018 . Actors' Equity Association. Terms of Use | Privacy