AEA Logo
American Stage Actors
AEA home page
News and Media

Member Portal

  Communication Dept.
  Press Room
  News Links
  Filming & Taping
  Annual Study

    Posted September 17, 2008

< Return to 2008 Archives

Equity Signs Three-Year Pact With 17 New England Theatres

Equity has signed a three-year agreement with 17 New England Area Theatres (NEAT), effective September 8, 2008.

2008 Negotiating Team
Back L-R: Business Rep Melissa Colgan, Kippy Goldfarb, Bob Knapp, Peter Haydu, John Kooi;
Front L-R: Chair Julia Breanetta Simpson, Chief Negotiator Lawrence Lorczak, James Bodge, Boston Area Liaison
Not pictured: Stephen Esspach

Ratified by the Eastern Regional Board in early August, the new contract offers significant increases in salaries over the term of the contract. Salaries for actors in the first year will range from $218 to $529, from $262 to $632 for stage managers and from $240 to $581 for assistant stage managers. The salaries will increase by 4.4% to 5.3% in the second and third years, culminating in salary ranges of $240 to $538 for actors; $289 to $697 for stage managers; and $265 to $641 for assistant stage managers.

Other significant changes in the contract: stage managers will receive an additional one-sixteenth of contractual salary as tech week compensation, and there is a requirement that stage managers be compensated for performance of various additional duties. Overtime rates for Categories 4 - 8 have increased for each year of the contract. Theatres will be allowed up to 29 hours for staged readings for payment of a $100 stipend and reimbursement of basic transportation.

During the 2006-2007 season, the NEAT contract created nearly 2,400 workweeks for Equity members. The contract is utilized by theatres in the greater Boston area and Providence, Rhode Island, including: Actors Shakespeare Project, Boston Playwrights Theatre, Boston Theatre Works, Gloucester Stage Company, Lyric Stage Company of Boston, New Repertory Theatre, Sandra Feinstein-Gamm Theatre, SpeakEasy Stage Company, Stoneham Theatre, The Nora Theatre Company, The Publick Theatre, Inc., The Village Theatre Project, and Wellfleet Harbor Actors Theatre. Four theatres - Foothills Theatre Company, Laconia Gardens Stage Company, Underground Railway Theatre and Wellesley Summer Theatre - are first time signatories to the contract, completing the roster of 17 theatres.

The NEAT Committee was chaired by Councillor Julia Breanetta Simpson. James Bodge, Councillor Bob Knapp, along with Steven Espach, John Kooi, Kippy Goldfarb, Peter Haydu from the Boston Liaison Committee.

Senior Business Rep Lawrence Lorczak served as Chief Negotiator for Equity, assisted by Business Rep Melissa Colgan. NEAT President Rick Lombardo was the Chief Negotiator on behalf of the theatres.

Back to Actors' Equity News Index

Home | Members Only | About Equity | Member Benefits | Document Library
FAQ | News and Media | Membership Department | Contact

© 2018 . Actors' Equity Association. Terms of Use | Privacy