AEA Logo
American Stage Actors
AEA home page
News and Media

Member Portal

  Communication Dept.
  Press Room
  News Links
  Filming & Taping
  Annual Study

    Posted July 16, 2008

< Return to 2008 Archives

Annual Henry Awards

Equity Actors, Theatres In the Spotlight
At Annual Henry Awards - Monday, July 7, 2008

By David Lotz, National Communications Director

The 3rd annual Henry Awards were held at Littleton's Town Hall Arts Center near Denver on July 7, 2008, shining the spotlight on local Equity Actors and theatres. Sponsored by the Colorado Theatre Guild, the Henry's are named after retired producer Henry Lowenstein, and honor the "best of" in Denver area theatres and productions from the recent theatrical season.

AEA member Lucy Roucis and Denver Area Liaison Chair Lindsey Hanahan

For the first time, Equity signed on as a sponsor of this year's awards. "We are delighted to support the Colorado Theatre Guild and the Henry Awards," said AEA Western Regional Vice President Doug Carfrae. "We both share a common goal to promote and foster professional theatre in communities throughout Colorado, and to improve the lives of the artists who work in those communities."

Denver AEA Liaison Committee members Drew Frady and Susan Long, with T. David Rutherford, President of the Colorado Theatre Guild

Multiple "Henry's" went to:

  • Denver Center Theatre Company (DCTC) (7 Henrys) including Outstanding Season by a company, Outstanding New Play (LYDIA) and Outstanding Ensemble (LYDIA)

  • Arvada Center for the Arts and Humanities (4 Henrys), including Outstanding Musical, Outstanding Costumes, and Outstanding Actor In a Musical for LA CAGE AUX FOLLES

  • Outstanding Actor Awards were given to Equity members Marcus Waterman (WHOREHOUSE, Arvada Center), Gene Gillette (LIEUTENANT OF INISHMORE, Curious Theatre); Jeanne Paulsen (DOUBT, DCTC); Michael E. Gold (LA CAGE, Arvada Center); Mike Hartman (PLAINSONG, DCTC); and Equity Membership Candidate Megan Van De Hey (COMPANY, Town Hall Arts Center)

EMC Megan Van De Hey garnered Best Supporting Actress for COMPANY

Nominated for other Henry Awards were AEA members Sam Gregory (DOUBT, WHO'S AFRAID OF VIRGINIA WOOLF), Keith L. Hatten (EMPEROR JONES), Stephanie Beatriz (LYDIA), Onahoua Rodriguez (LYDIA), Joel Sutliffe (EMC, COMPANY), Beth Flynn (WHOREHOUSE), Randy Moore (YOU CAN'T TAKE IT WITH YOU), Gregory Price (EMPEROR JONES), Sean Tarrant (EMC - ALL'S WELL), Rhonda Brown (WHO'S AFRAID…), Kim Staunton (DOUBT), Milton Craig Nealy (LA CAGE), and Amy Board (GREAT AMERICAN TRAILER PARK MUSICAL).

Lindsey Hanahan, Henry Awards nominee Randy Moore, David Lotz

There were several special presentations during the evening. John Ashton, longtime director, actor and producer, as well as host for most CTG events in the past 23 years, received a Lifetime Achievement Award. Musical Director Donna Debreceni received a Henry for Special Achievement in Musical Direction. Both artists received standing ovations as highly esteemed, beloved members of the theatrical community. El Armstrong received an award for Special Achievement in Theatre Technology and Engineering, and especially thanked Stage Managers and Backstage Crew for their "behind-the-scenes" contributions to the magic that is theatre.

Equity was proudly represented at the event by Lindsey Hanahan, Chair of the Denver Liaison Committee; Committee members Drew Frady, Susan Long, and Heather Fortin Rubald; and National Communications Director David Lotz.

Bravo to all of the nominees and winners!

The Arvada Center's production of LA CAGE AUX FOLLES, which won the Best Musical Award

(l-r)Onahoua Rodriguez as Ceci and Catalina Maynard as Rosa in the Denver Center Theatre Company world premiere production of Octavio Solis’ lyrical and stunning new play Lydia, directed by Juliette Carrillo.
Photo by Terry Shapiro

Philip Pleasants as Harold McPheron and Mike Hartman as Raymond McPheron in the Denver Center Theatre Company world premiere production of Plainsong. Hartman won a Henry Award for Best Supporting Actor in a Play.
Photo by Terry Shapiro

Home | Members Only | About Equity | Member Benefits | Document Library
FAQ | News and Media | Membership Department | Contact

© 2018 . Actors' Equity Association. Terms of Use | Privacy