AEA Logo
American Stage Actors
AEA home page
News and Media

Member Portal

  Communication Dept.
  Press Room
  News Links
  Filming & Taping
  Annual Study

    Posted April 16, 2008

< Return to 2008 Archives

Carbonell Awards

Actors' Equity Is Sponsor at the 2008 Carbonells, South Florida's Awards for Theatrical Excellence

Equity Theatres and Members In-the-Spotlight at Gala Event

by: Marjorie O'Neill-Butler

The 32nd annual Carbonell Awards for theatre excellence were held Monday April 7th, 2008 at the Broward Center for Performing Arts in Ft. Lauderdale. Recipients of the awards were spread over three counties, but only ten productions from six theaters won awards for 2007 shows. The evening was hosted by Broadway star and two-time Tony nominee, Christine Andreas. Actors' Equity became a sponsor as part of the Associations' Centennial branding campaign.

The five year old Maltz Jupiter Theatre took home the most awards including Best Production of a Musical for MAN OF LA MANCHA. That show also won Best Director of a Musical (Peter Flynn) and Best Lighting Design (Donald Edmund Thomas). Their elaborate production of THE BOYFRIEND earned them three additional awards including choreography (Denis Jones), scenic design (Dan Kuchar) and costumes (Jose M. Rivera).

Carbonell winners Irene Adjan and Kim Morgan Dean

GableStage in Coral Gables earned Artistic Director Joseph Adler the Best Director of a Play award, his third in a row, for THE LIEUTENANT OF INNISHMORE. INNISHMORE also won for Best Production of a Play. Actress Kim Morgan Dean won Best Supporting Actress for her appearance in INNISHMORE and Lela Elam won Best Actress in a Play for her performance in another GableStage production, IN THE CONTINUUM.

Actors' Playhouse in Coral Gables won four Carbonells, three for its production of the musical URINETOWN (Best Supporting Actor and Actress honors went to Jim Ballard and Rachel Jones in that production). Best Actor in a Musical went to Gary Marachek for his performance in LA CAGE AUX FOLLES, also at the Actors' Playhouse.

This year, for the first time, Actors' Equity Association was a sponsor of one of the awards and actively participated in the ceremony. Arne Gundersen, Eastern Regional Vice President, and Valerie Toth-Grant, National Councillor, were there representing the union. They presented Irene Adjan, Chair of the South Florida Liaison Committee, with her award for Best Actress in a Musical for her title role in the New Vista Theatre's FUNNY GIRL. Equity Councillor Margot Moreland was also nominated for a Carbonell (Best Actress/Play) for her performance at GableStage. Also in attendance was South Eastern Traveling Representative, Doug Truelsen.

Best Ensemble Award went to Mosaic Theatre for their production of GLENGARRY GLEN ROSS featuring AEA members Barry Tarallo, Cary Leiter and Heath Kelts, and stage managed by Naomi Zapata. Equity member Michael McKeever, also an award winning playwright, won the award for Best New Work for MELT, a play about life in multicultural South Florida that premiered at Coral Gables' New Theatre.

They're all winners: Councillor/Carbonell nominee Margot Moreland, Eastern Regional VP Arne Gundersen, SoFL Liaison/Carbonell winner Irene Adjan, Councillor Valerie Toth-Grant

Councillor Valerie Toth-Grant, AEA Eastern VP Arne Gundersen, Meredith Lasher, Pres/Theatre League of So FL.

Home | Members Only | About Equity | Member Benefits | Document Library
FAQ | News and Media | Membership Department | Contact

© 2018 . Actors' Equity Association. Terms of Use | Privacy