AEA Logo
American Stage Actors
AEA home page
News and Media

Member Portal

  Communication Dept.
  Press Room
  News Links
  Filming & Taping
  Annual Study

    Posted April 19, 2007

< Return to 2007 Archives

South Florida Equity Members and Theatres Win Carbonell Awards

Submitted by: Marjorie O'Neill-Butler, South Florida Liaison Committee

Pictured (from L to R) are Joe Warick, director of Lend Me A Tenor (Winner Best Ensemble) at the Caldwell Theatre Company, Peter Haig, Best Supporting Actor in a Play, and Reggie Whitehead, Best Supporting Actor in a Musical.

The Carbonell Awards, recognizing the best of South Florida theatre from Palm Beach County to Miami-Dade County, honored AEA actors and theatres on Monday, April 9th at the annual award ceremony. The awards covered the shows produced throughout the calendar year 2006. The evening was hosted by two-time Tony Award nominee and Drama Desk winner Bruce Adler. Featured entertainment also included performances by Gary Sandy, Gary Marachek, Alton Fitzgerald White and Avery Sommers.

The Carbonell Awards committee does not distinguish between Equity and non-Equity theatres, however, all but one of the twenty awards were won by theatres using AEA contracts. Best Actress in a Play went to Lisa Morgan for WHO'S AFRAID OF VIRGINIA WOOLF at Palm Beach Dramaworks. Antonio Amadeo won Best Actor in a Play for THE PILLOWMAN at GableStage. Best Supporting Actor awards went to Peter Haig for THE PRICE at Palm Beach Dramaworks, and Connie Saloutos for LEND ME A TENOR at the Caldwell. In the musical category Tally Sessions won the Best Actor Award for THE FULL MONTY at The Actors' Playhouse at the Miracle Theatre, and Tina Fabrique won for her portrayal of the title role in ELLA at Florida Stage. The Best Supporting Actor Awards in a Musical went to Reggie Whitehead for THE FULL MONTY, and Lourelene Snedeker for Irving Berlin's WHITE CHRISTMAS, also at The Actors' Playhouse. THE PILLOWMAN won Best Production of a Play, with its Director Joe Adler, also taking top honors. THE TIN PAN ALLEY RAG, at the Maltz Jupiter Theatre won Best Production of a Musical, and Best Director of a Musical for Jiri Zizka.

There was a brand new award given out this year for Best Emerging Artist. The Fred Diekmann Award was given to brand new Equity member Kameshia Duncan, who just recently took her Equity card with the production of A HOUSE WITH NO WALLS at Florida Stage.

South Florida Equity theatre continues to gain strength. During the calendar year 2006, more than 325 Equity contracts were given to actors and stage managers, most of them to Florida based talent. Sixteen South Florida Theatres are AEA theatres or offer AEA contracts.

Home | Members Only | About Equity | Member Benefits | Document Library
FAQ | News and Media | Membership Department | Contact

© 2018 . Actors' Equity Association. Terms of Use | Privacy