AEA Logo
American Stage Actors
AEA home page
News and Media

Member Portal

  Communication Dept.
  Press Room
  News Links
  Filming & Taping
  Annual Study

    Posted October 27, 2006

< Return to 2006 Archives

Stage Managers' Anniversary

Janet Friedman (Founding Member/Past Chair, Bill McComb (Founding Member/Past Vice Chair), Peter Taylor (Founding Member)

25 YEARS OF THE STAGE MANAGERS' ASSOCIATION (1981 - 2006) was celebrated on Monday, September 25th, 2006, at the West Bank Café in New York City. The event was attended by over 75-stage managers and AEA distinguished guests, Alan Eisenberg, Mark Zimmerman, and Bob Bryur. The program hosted by SMA Chair, John Atherlay was composed of founding members. Bob Bennett & Jane Neufeld spoke about the earliest beginnings of the SMA which started as a social gathering and eventually grew into an organization that has placed the professional stage manager at the forefront of the American theater. Tom Kelly detailed how the SMA was instrumental in achieving AEA Council Seats for Stage Managers. Other contributors to the program included Janet Freidman, Bill McComb, Peter Taylor and Jay Adler, who lent their voices to outline the growing pains of the organization, its newsletters, and the development of a constitution. Past Chair, Robert I. Cohen delivered a memoriam to deceased stage managers. Alan Eisenberg, AEA Executive Director delivered a tribute to the recently deceased Patrick Quinn, and extended heartfelt praises to the SMA for all the hard work that stage managers have accomplished to elevate the professional standards of theater. The program was concluded by John Atherlay with fond memories of Past Chairs, Del Hughes Award Recipients for Lifetime Achievement in the Art of Stage Management, and a look to the future of the SMA.

John Atherlay - SMA Chair

Home | Members Only | About Equity | Member Benefits | Document Library
FAQ | News and Media | Membership Department | Contact

© 2018 . Actors' Equity Association. Terms of Use | Privacy