AEA Logo
American Stage Actors
AEA home page
News and Media

Member Portal

  Communication Dept.
  Press Room
  News Links
  Filming & Taping
  Annual Study

    Posted November 7, 2006

< Return to 2006 Archives

Jeff Awards

2006 Joseph Jefferson Awards Celebrated in Chicago

Court Theatre's MAN OF LA MANCHA and FENCES Garner Top Honors

At a star-studded gala at DePaul's Merle Reskin Theatre on Monday, November 6, 2006, the Joseph Jefferson Awards Committee, honoring excellence in Chicago-area Equity theatre, presented 32 awards, including a Special Award, to recipients among 155 nominees in 28 categories for productions which opened between August 1, 2005, and July 31, 2006. The Jeff Committee sent judges to the opening nights of 123 Equity productions offered by 51 producing organizations, and recommended 92 of these productions for further judging by the entire committee, which made them eligible for Jeff Awards.

The Court Theatre led all recipients with 10 awards, six for the musical MAN OF LA MANCHA and four for FENCES by August Wilson. A MARVELOUS PARTY: THE NOEL COWARD CELEBRATION, presented by Northlight Theatre and Geva Theatre Center also received 4 awards, including Production -- Review.

The Goodman Theatre creative team of Robert Falls and Roche Schulfer received a Special Award for their 20-year collaboration, which has helped bring the Goodman -- and Chicago theatre -- to national eminence.

Best acting awards went to AEA members: Jacqueline Williams, Kirsten Fitzgerald, A.C. Smith, Ella Joyce, Rick Boynton, Cindy Gold, Michael Buchanan, Barbara Robertson, Jeff Kuhl, Anna Lauris, Carl Danielsen, and the ensemble of MAN OF LA MANCHA.

For a complete list of award winners:

Home | Members Only | About Equity | Member Benefits | Document Library
FAQ | News and Media | Membership Department | Contact

© 2018 . Actors' Equity Association. Terms of Use | Privacy