AEA Logo
American Stage Actors
AEA home page
News and Media

Member Portal

  Communication Dept.
  Press Room
  News Links
  Filming & Taping
  Annual Study

   March 21, 2006

< Return to Liaison News

< Return to 2006 Archives

Austin/San Antonio

Members Meet, Select Committee

Approximately 30 members of the Austin/San Antonio area membership gathered at the Austin Playhouse on February 12, 2006 for their annual meeting, reports Area Liaison Bill McMillin. Western Regional Director John Holly and Regional Vice President Doug Carfrae were also in attendance.

Mr. Holly reported and chaired the election of the Liaison Committee. Elected to new two year terms are: Western Region Stage Manager Councillor Bill McMillin, Chair; Tish Brandt, Jerili Romeo and Karen Kuykendall. Continuing to serve are: Kay Coleman, David Jarrott, Douglas Taylor, Marijane Vandivier and Parker Williams.

Babs George, John Holly, Dirk Van Allen (2005 Lucy Jordan Award recipient)

Mr. Carfrae and Mr. McMillin also reported. A lively discussion ensued, with discussion centering around current and future health insurance issues.

Prior to the meeting, there was a reception in the theatre lobby that included several area producers (both Equity and non-Equity), casting directors, talent agents and many other area theatre people.

The Austin/San Antonio Area is home to six Equity theatres: The Austin Playhouse (SPT 1), Austin Shakespeare (SPT 1), Zachary Scott Theatre Center (SPT 4), The State Theatre (SPT 7), The Mary Moody Northern Theatre at St. Edward's University (URTA) and The Greater Tuna Corp. (Production). Along with these, there are many Umbrella Theatres, with The Austin Circle of Theatres serving as The Producer of Record, and well over 40 other theatre companies that occasionally use the Special Appearance and Guest Artist Agreements. There are over 150 members in the Austin/San Antonio Area.

The Committee thanks Equity member and Managing Artistic Director Don Toner of The Austin Playhouse for hosting the meeting.

L-R Front Row: Jerili Romeo, Marijane Vandivier, Kay Coleman
2nd Row: Douglas Taylor, Caitlin Reilly, David Long, Anastasia Coon, Sharon Bernard
3rd Row: Parker Williams, Babs George, David Stahl, Ellen Glatman, Dirk Van Allen (2005 Lucy Jordan Award recipient)
4th Row: David R. Jarrott, Tish Brandt, Robert Newell, Marco Perella, Bill McMillin
Back Row: John Holly, Doug Carfrae

Home | Members Only | About Equity | Member Benefits | Document Library
FAQ | News and Media | Membership Department | Contact

© 2018 . Actors' Equity Association. Terms of Use | Privacy