Actors' Equity | Theatre News   
< Home |  < News & Events |  < Archives Actors' Equity Association | News & Events


Posted November 1, 2005

Twin Cities New “Ivey” Awards Recognize Performers, Professional Theatres In Minneapolis/St. Paul

The historic State Theatre in Minneapolis was the glamorous setting for the new Ameriprise Financial “Ivey” Awards, which took place on Monday, September 26, 2005. Dozens of local Equity actors, professional theatres and other organizations took part in this first-ever celebration of the vibrant theatrical community in and around the “Twin Cities.”

Kimberly Joy Morgan

The Ivey Award is named after the Ivey, a popular Minneapolis restaurant in the 1900s that was frequented by theatre performers and theater-goers, and is underwritten by Ameriprise Financial, which has a long history of supporting arts in the community. The gala was hosted by Equity actor Justin Kirk (“Angels In America”) and Theatre Communications Group Executive Director Ben Cameron.

Stacia Rice

Recognized for their outstanding performances were Equity members Kimberly Morgan, Steve Hendrickson and Stacia Rice. Ms. Morgan drew acclaim for her one woman show, HOT COMB,BRANDIN’ ONE MARK OF OPPRESSION at Pillsbury House Theatre; Mr. Morgan was a favorite for his performance as Cyrano de Bergerac at Ten Thousand Things; and Stacia Rice was saluted for her “Blanche” in A STREETCAR NAMED DESIRE at the Theatre Garage.

Steve Hendrickson

The Emerging Artist Award was give to Nathan Christopher, who has been seen in numerous productions at Ten Thousand Things, the Illusion Theatre, The Jungle and the Children’s Theatre Company, among others. Nathan is a recent graduate of the University of Minnesota and got his Equity card in 2004.

The Lifetime Achievement Award was given to Lou Bellamy, who is the Founder and Artistic Director of the Penumbra Theatre Company, one of preminent African-American Theatre companies in the US, now in its 28th season.

Nathan Christopher recieves the Emerging Artist Award

“Theatre Hightlight” awards were given to: Children’s Theatre Company for A YEAR WITH FROG AND TOAD; Theatre Latte Da for LA BOHEME, the Off Leash Theatre’s PSST!; Theatre de la Jeune Lune’s THE MISER, and the Guthrie Theatre’s production of DEATH OF A SALEMAN.

According to Ivey Awards founder and project director Scott Mayer, the Ivey’s are a chance to salute a theatrical community that is recognized throughout the country: “What distinguishes this award celebration is the inclusiveness and broad public component. It was important that we open the evaluation process to the entire community of theater-goers.” Mayer explained that there are no set categories or award nominees. Those recognized come from by 77 theatre evaluators who saw the nearly 200 theatrical productions and nearly 1000 performances in the Twin Cities during the 2004-2005 season.

Entertainment was provided by the Ivey League, featuring Equit members Holly Schroeder, Kevin Barnard, Grant Richey, Joey Babay and Richard Grube.

For more information about the Ivey Awards, visit:

to news & events home...