Actors' Equity | Theatre News   
< Home |  < News & Events  |  < Archives Actors' Equity Association | News & Events


May 20, 2004

Detroit Equity Theatres Garner Awards

Local Stage Manager Receives Special Award For Her Efforts To Save The Meadow Brook Theatre

The Detroit Free Press Awards for Theater Excellence were given to Detroit-area Equity theatres and Equity actors, at the Gem Theatre On Sunday, May 16, 2004. Theatre critic Martin Kohn presided over the nominations, which included several notable productions.

The Equity theatres included the Meadow Brook Theatre, a LORT company which was saved by the local community last year, as well as several Equity Small Professional Theatres: The Purple Rose Theatre, Jewish Ensemble Theatre, Performance Network, Plowshares, The BoarsHead, Detroit Repertory Theatre; and Zeitgeist, a Special Appearance Theatre.

Sarah Warren, a Detroit Equity Stage Manager, received the Lawrence DeVine Award for outstanding contribution to theater in recognition of her successful efforts to help save the theater when Oakland University decided to wash its hands of the money-losing operation


Best Actor
Loren Bass, Dr. Fried, "Dance Like No One's Watching," BoarsHead Theater
Paul Hopper, various roles, "Greater Tuna," Meadow Brook
John Lepard, Don, "Leaving Iowa," Purple Rose (WINNER)
Thomas Mahard, various roles, "Greater Tuna," Meadow Brook
Andrew Parker, Danny Saunders, "The Chosen," Jewish Ensemble Theatre
Mark Young, Guy, "Blues for an Alabama Sky," Plowshares

Best Actress
Linda Boston, Ella, "Sarah, Ella and Pops," Plowshares Theatre
Barbara Coven, Theresa, "Boy Gets Girl," Jewish Ensemble Theatre
Cecilia Foreman, Alma, "Yellowman," Detroit Repertory Theatre (WINNER)

Best Featured Actress
Sandra Birch, Madame Arcati, "Blithe Spirit," Purple Rose (WINNER)
Mary Bremer, Neva, "The Home Team," Performance Network
Terry Heck, various roles, "The Good Doctor," Purple Rose
Leah Smith, Rodeo, "Talking With," Meadow Brook Theatre

Best Featured Actor
Joseph Albright, Johnny, "The Home Team," Performance Network
Robert Grossman, Les Kennkat, "Boy Gets Girl," Jewish Ensemble Theatre
Paul Hopper, Candy, "Of Mice and Men," Meadow Brook (WINNER)
R. Stanley Skrok, Ferris Layman, "The Diviners," Theatre Company

Best Director
Anthony Caselli, "Leaving Iowa," Purple Rose
Janet Cleveland, "Blues for an Alabama Sky," Plowshares (WINNER)
Jennifer George, "Hamlet Machine Hamlet," Zeitgeist
Jim Posante, "The Home Team," Performance Network
Tim Rhoze, "Yellowman," Detroit Repertory
Guy Sanville and Anthony Caselli, "Blithe Spirit," Purple Rose

Best Play
"Leaving Iowa," Purple Rose
"Blues for an Alabama Sky," Plowshares
"Hamlet Machine Hamlet," Zeitgeist
"The Kentucky Cycle," Hilberry
"The Home Team," Performance Network
"Yellowman," Detroit Repertory (WINNER)
"Blithe Spirit," Purple Rose

Best Design
Bartley Bauer, set, "Blithe Spirit," Purple Rose Theatre (WINNER)
Vince Mountain, set, "Leaving Iowa," Purple Rose
Heather White and Emily Rose Merrell, costumes, "The Tibetan Book of the Dead," Zeitgeist Theater

Ceremonies took place at the Gem Theatre before an invitation-only audience of 200 members of Detroit's theater community.

to news & events home...