HomeTheatre News
< Home |  < News & Events |  < Archives Actors' Equity Association | News & Events

March 3, 2004

Actors' Equity Foundation Announces 2003 Foundation Grants $60,000 Awarded to 60 Theatres in All Regions

The Actors' Equity Foundation has announced its 2003 Foundation Grants to not-for-profit theatres across the country. This year, over $60,000 will be awarded to 60 Equity theatres – 30 in the Eastern Region, 18 in the Central Region, and 12 in the Western Region - based on the number of Equity members resident in these respective regions. The grants range in size from $500 to $4000.

Foundation President Carl Harms, Equity President Patrick Quinn, and Equity Executive Director, Alan Eisenberg made the announcement: "At a time when many charitable organizations have reduced support for the arts, the Actors’ Equity Foundation is very proud to maintain its financial commitment to these deserving institutions. These Equity theatres consistently provide jobs for our members and are dedicated to the highest professional standards.”

Click here for a complete list of grant recipients.

The theatres have a wide range of financial and artistic profiles, and operate under a number of different Equity contracts, including LORT (League of Resident Theatres), Stock, Small Professional Theatre (SPT), Off Broadway, HAT (Hollywood Area Theatre, CAT (Chicago Area Theatre), Theatre for Young Audiences (TYA), and Letters of Agreement (LOA's).

The Actors' Equity Foundation was created by Equity's Council in 1962, following the death of Paul Dullzell, AEA's second Executive Secretary. Dullzell bequeathed monies to the Association to be used for actors' welfare. These funds are currently overseen by a Board of Directors headed by Carl Harms, President. Other Board members include: Equity President Patrick Quinn, Equity Treasurer Conard Fowkes, Equity First Vice President Mark Zimmerman, Equity Eastern Regional Vice President, Arne Gundersen, Councillors Doug Carfrae, Tom Joyce and Judy Rice, Equity Executive Director Alan Eisenberg, and Equity Regional Directors John Holly, Kathryn V. Lamkey and Carol Waaser.

The Foundation also provides support to: The Actors' Fund of America, Volunteer Physicians for the Arts, the Theatre Archives at the Library for the Performing Arts at Lincoln Center, the Episcopal Actors Guild and the Stephen J. Falat Holiday Basket Project. The Foundation also administers Equity’s prestigious Bayfield, Callaway, Derwent, LeNoire, Robeson and Richard Seff Awards.

Donations Accepted
Donations to the Actors' Equity Foundation are fully tax-deductible. Checks should made payable to the Actors' Equity Foundation, at 165 West 46th Street. For further information, contact Joseph De Michele at 212-869-8530.

to news & events home...