AEA Logo
American Stage Actors
AEA home page
News and Media

Member Portal

  Communication Dept.
  Press Room
  News Links
  Filming & Taping
  Annual Study

    Posted June 5, 2013

Actors' Equity Honored at 2013 Elliot Norton Awards

Chita Rivera Receives Lifetime Achievement Award

By Donna Sorbello

Eastern Regional VP Melissa Robinette and Lifetime Achivement Honoree Chita Rivera

The Boston Theater Critics Association presented the 31st Annual Elliot Norton Awards on May 20, 2013 at the beautifully restored ArtsEmerson Paramount Center. The awards were established in honor of theatre critic Elliot Norton, who remained on the selection committee until he retired in 1987.

Actors' Equity received an Elliot Norton Centennial Award "for 100 years of representing and protecting creative artists both onstage and on social platforms nationwide thus nurturing the growth of American professional theater." Eastern Regional Vice President Melissa Robinette accepted the award.

Many local AEA members were honored with "Nortons," including, among others, Will Lyman for sustained excellence, as well as Outstanding Actor, Midsize Theatre, LONG DAY'S JOURNEY INTO NIGHT (New Rep) and OPERATION EPSILON (Nora Theatre Company); Lyman's daughter, Georgia, for Outstanding Solo Performance, CHESAPEAKE, (New Rep Theatre); Ricardo Engerman, Outstanding Actor in Small or Fringe Theatre, THE ELABORATE ENTRANCE OF CHAD DEITY (Company One) and Evelyn Howe, Outstanding Actress in a Midsize Theatre, THE MOTHER F* ER WITH THE HAT {SpeakEasy Stage).

Local AEA theatres garnering awards included Huntington Theatre, Outstanding Production, Large Theatre for Our Town; Midsize Theatre, SpeakEasy Stage for MOTHER F* ER WITH THE HAT; Midsize Musical, Lyric Stage for AVENUE Q. Along with a special award as Champion Of The Performing Arts to Mayor Tom Menino, the awards stretched beyond the local talent pool to include AEA members Andrea Martin, PIPPIN, (A.R.T.) and Bianca Amato, PRIVATE LIVES (Huntington), as well as a Lifetime Achievement Award to Chita Rivera.

Area Liaison Committee Members Emily McMullen, EVP Melissa Robinette, Michael Dell’Orto, Jim Bodge, John Kooi, Celeste McClaine, Peter Edmund Haydu and Business Rep Nic Neipert

back to Actors' Equity News Index

Home | Members Only | About Equity | Member Benefits | Document Library
FAQ | News and Media | Membership Department | Contact

© 2018 . Actors' Equity Association. Terms of Use | Privacy