AEA Logo
American Stage Actors
AEA home page
News and Media

Member Portal

  Communication Dept.
  Press Room
  News Links
  Filming & Taping
  Annual Study

    Posted July 16, 2012

< return to 2012 archives

Equity Actors shine at the 22nd Annual Artie Awards

By Don Gervasi, Area Liaison

Equity members Brian Mysliwy as Valere and Vincent O'Neill as Elomire in ICTC's production of LA BETE.
Photo by: Lee Pezzimenti

The 22nd Annual Artvoice Theatre Awards were held at the Town Ballroom in Buffalo, NY on June 4th honoring local productions from the 2011-2012 Theatre season. The "Arties" were started in 1991 by Anthony Chase, Theatre Editor of Artvoice, a free weekly newspaper dedicated to the arts in Western New York. All proceeds from the evening (along with proceeds from area theatres' sale of Red Ribbons) go to Benedict House, which provides non-discriminatory residential housing opportunities and supportive services for persons living with AIDS. The evening was emceed by Mr. Chase, Lisa Ludwig and Amy Jakiel with music direction by Michael Hake.

AEA member Stan Klimecko as Boolie, Sheila McCarthy as Daisy and Laverne Clay as Hoke in DRIVING MISS DAISY for Jewish Repertory Theatre of WNY.
Photo by: Bob Carey

Equity members continued to have a presence at the Arties this year. Member Brian Mysliwy won the award for Outstanding Actor in a Play, hilariously playing Valere in Irish Classical Theatre's production of LA BETE, while member Stan Klimecko took home Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Play for playing Boolie in Jewish Repertory Theatre's DRIVING MISS DAISY (which also starred AEA members Laverne Clay and Sheila McCarthy). Member Maureen Anne Porter was awarded the Artie for Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Play for playing Claire in Irish Classical Theatre's A DELICATE BALANCE. In addition, Equity Membership Candidate Steve Copps won the Artie for Outstanding Actor in a Musical, playing the title role in FLOYD COLLINS for American Repertory Theatre of WNY.

Equity member Maureen Anne Porter as Claire in A DELICATE BALANCE for ICTC.
Photo by: Bob Carey

Other AEA members that were nominated for Arties were John Fredo (ONE MORE FOR MY BABY, MusicalFare Theatre), Adriano Gatto (EMPEROR AND GALILEAN, Torn Space Theatre), Don Gervasi (ONE MORE FOR MY BABY, MusicalFare Theatre), Josephine Hogan (VIVIAN, New Phoenix Theatre/ Red Thread Theatre Co.), Ellen Horst (IMAGINING MADOFF, Jewish Repertory Theatre), and Norm Sham (for Direction, 42ND STREET, Kavinoky Theatre).

Over 500 people attended this year's Artie Awards with over $7,000 raised for Benedict House. Over the years the Artvoice Theatre Awards (and the connected sale of Red Ribbons) has raised well over $200,000 for AIDS-related causes.

back to Actors' Equity News Index

Home | Members Only | About Equity | Member Benefits | Document Library
FAQ | News and Media | Membership Department | Contact

© 2018 . Actors' Equity Association. Terms of Use | Privacy