AEA Logo
American Stage Actors
AEA home page
News and Media

Member Portal

  Communication Dept.
  Press Room
  News Links
  Filming & Taping
  Annual Study

    Updated December 6, 2012

Nominations Due For 2013 Rosetta LeNoire Award

Equity's National Equal Employment Opportunity Committee is accepting nominations for the 2013 Rosetta LeNoire Award. The award, named for the noted actor and theatrical producer Rosetta LeNoire, is given in recognition of outstanding artistic contributions made by either an individual or institution to the "universality of the human experience in American theatres". Inherent in the award is acknowledgement that the recipient has an exemplary record in the hiring or promotion of ethnic minorities, female actors and actors with disabilities through multi-racial and/or non-traditional casting.

The award was named in honor of the actress Rosetta LeNoire, who was also the first recipient, not only because of her body of work in the theatre --- and her work with the then titled Actors' Equity Association's Ethnic Minorities Committee --- but also for founding the AMAS Repertory Theatre Company, an organization dedicated to maintaining an "interracial company" of actors. Ms LeNoire championed the cause of racial equality for more than 70 years. Her efforts profoundly influenced the New York theatre community. Through the AMAS Repertory Theatre Company, she created an artistic community where members' individual skills were recognized without regard to race, creed, color, religion or national origin.

Ms. LeNoire appeared in hundreds of shows and touring productions. She made her Broadway debut in Mike Todd's 1939 production of HOT MIKADO and went on to appear in such other hits as: ANNA LUCASTA, FINIAN'S RAINBOW, BLUES FOR MR. CHARLIE, LOST IN THE STARS, THE SUNSHINE BOYS, A STREETCAR NAMED DESIRE, YOU CAN'T TAKE IT WITH YOU, and MISTER JOHNSON, In addition to such films as THE SUNSHINE BOYS and MOSCOW ON THE HUDSON, LeNoire is familiar to contemporary audiences for her work in television. She had regular roles on the series GIMME A BREAK, COSBY, and is best known for her role as Estelle Winslow on FAMILY MATTERS.

Among Ms. LeNoire's numerous awards include the Sojourner Truth Award from the Negro Professional Women, The Paul Robeson Award, and in 1999, she received the National Medal of the Arts. Then President Bill Clinton said of Ms LeNoire "Rosetta did more than dream of a theatre with no color bar - she built one."

Throughout the years this award has been presented to numerous renowned and distinguished individuals and institutions for contributions to and/or promotion of diversity in the entertainment industry. Previous recipients of this award include: Rosetta LeNoire (1989), Mixed Blood Theatre (1990), Milwaukee Repertory (1991), Joseph Papp & New York Shakespeare Festival (1992), Crossroads Theatre (1993), Wynn Handman & the American Place Theatre (1994), Philip Rose (1995), Ellen Stewart of La MaMa E.T.C. (1996), Walter J. Turnbull of the Boys Choir of Harlem (1997), Leland Ball & the Sacramento Light Opera (1998), Dennis Zacek and Marcelle McVay of the Victory Gardens Theatre (1999), Wheelock Family Theatre (2000), Sharon Jensen & the Non-Traditional Casting Project & Doug Mann of the Chicago Theatre Co (2001)., Eric Krebs (2002), North Shore Music Theatre & Deaf West Theatre (2003), Kitty Lunn & Infinity Dance Theatre (2004), Woodie King, Jr. & New Federal Theatre (2005), Mia Katigbak & NAATCO (2006), Willie Boston (2007), Detroit Repertory Theatre in 2008, Bethune Theatredanse (2009), Jackie Taylor and Chicago's Black Ensemble Theatre (2010), the Shakespeare Center of Los Angeles (2011), and the 2012 winner was Seth Rozin and the InterAct Theatre Company.


  • There are two ways to nominate an individual, a theatre company, and/or an organization for the 2013 Rosetta LeNoire Award. (Nominations can be either Electronic or Hard Copy/Paper.)
  • A formal Rosetta LeNoire Award Submission Form must be completed and returned with supporting documentation and pertinent information. (Electronic Submission Forms can be secured by going to and clicking on Rosetta LeNoire Award link.) To obtain a Hard Copy/Paper Rosetta LeNoire Award Submission Form, please contact Luther Goins at (312) 641-0393 x237 or
  • All nominee supporting documentation and pertinent information (including the Submission Form) will be limited to ten pages.
  • All electronic nominations (including the Submission Form) should be submitted via email to
  • All Hard Copy/Paper nominations (including the Submission Form) should mailed directly to Luther Goins at the address listed below.

Rosetta LeNoire Award Nominations
c/o Luther Goins, National EEO Coordinator
Actors' Equity Association
557 W. Randolph
Chicago, IL 60661

For an Electronic Rosetta LeNoire Award Submission Form Click Here.

The deadline for the receipt of all nomination materials is Friday, February 15, 2013. The award will be presented at the Actors' Equity Annual Membership Meeting in April. For more information about the Award, contact Luther Goins, National EEO Coordinator, 312.641.0393 x237 or by e-mail at

back to Actors' Equity News Index

Home | Members Only | About Equity | Member Benefits | Document Library
FAQ | News and Media | Membership Department | Contact

© 2018 . Actors' Equity Association. Terms of Use | Privacy