AEA Logo
American Stage Actors
AEA home page
News and Media

Member Portal

  Communication Dept.
  Press Room
  News Links
  Filming & Taping
  Annual Study

    Posted April 7, 2010

< return to 2010 archives

Austin/San Antonio Liaison Committee Selects Members at Annual Meeting

Tom Parker (L) and Laura Walberg (R) - members

The Austin/San Antonio Liaison Area held its annual general Membership Meeting on Sunday, January 31, 2010 in the lobby of The State Theatre in Austin. Eighteen members attended, along with Western Regional Director Mary Lou Westerfield. A reception prior to the meeting drew many Equity Membership Candidates, local producers and theatre community members.

The meeting agenda included the selection of a new Liaison Committee. Continuing are Bill McMillin, Chair; Douglas Taylor, Vice-Chair; Barry Michael Miller, Marijane Vandivier, Parker Williams, Paul Wright, Babs George, David Stahl and Sheila Gordon. Newly selected are Charles "Huck" Huckaby, Michelle Collins, Laura Walberg and Victoria Beavan.

MJ Vandivier (Liaison Committee member)

It was a "lively, fun and informative meeting," reports Mr. McMillin, with discussion on a wide range of subjects, including: Western Regional Director's report; Area Liaison and Western Region Stage Manager Councillor Bill McMillin's report; health care; national, state and local membership numbers (there are 127 local members and 145 EMCs); website information; hotline; EMC Day review; Stage Managers' ongoing database; "how you can hire me" sheet for local auditions; the Summer Musical (ANNIE); recently completed Member Project Codes productions (A LONG DAY'S JOURNEY INTO NIGHT and A CHERRY ORCHARD); auditions; AEA theatres (Austin Playhouse, Zachary Scott Theatre Center, Austin Shakespeare, St. Edward's University's Mary Moody Northen Theatre, TEX-ARTS and Greater Tuna; Austin Circle of Theatres (name changed to Greater Austin Creative Alliance), approved AEA paymaster and producer of record for the Umbrella Agreement; and AEA's Centennial.

Babs George (L) - Liaison Committee member Alex Alford (R) - Managing Director of Austin Shakespeare, SPT Cat #1.

For more information on the Austin/San Antonio Area, contact Bill McMillin, at

back to Actors' Equity News Index

Home | Members Only | About Equity | Member Benefits | Document Library
FAQ | News and Media | Membership Department | Contact

© 2018 . Actors' Equity Association. Terms of Use | Privacy