AEA Logo
American Stage Actors
AEA home page
News and Media

Member Portal

  Communication Dept.
  Press Room
  News Links
  Filming & Taping
  Annual Study

    Posted July 17, 2009

< return to 2009 archives

Equity Actors, Theatres Shine At Colorado Henry Awards

Arvada's Les Miserables Takes Record-Breaking 13 Henrys

The fourth annual Henry Awards were held at the Space Theatre in the Denver Performing Arts Complex, on Monday, June 30, 2009, shining a spotlight on Colorado's vibrant theatrical community. Sponsored by the Colorado Theatre Guild, the Henry's are named after retired producer Henry Lowenstein and honor the "best of" in Denver area theatres and productions from the past theatrical season.

Backstage at the Henry's AEA members Drew Frady, AEA VP Paige Price, Stephen Day, Liaison Chair Lindsey Hanahan, Brian Merz-Hutchinson, Susan Long
Photos: David Lotz/Lindsey Hanahan

For the second year in a row, Actor's Equity co-sponsored the Henry's as part of the Association's ongoing branding campaign, in order to support Colorado Equity theatres and raise the visibility of the Denver Area Liaison Committee and local membership. Representing Equity at the affair were: AEA 1st V.P. Paige Price, Denver Area Liaison Committee Chair Lindsey Hanahan; National Communications Director David Lotz; and Committee members Drew Frady, Brian Merz-Hutchinson, and Susan Long.

Les Miserables "Best Ensemble" AEA members Stephen Day, Drew Frady, Arvada Center's Rod Lansberry, Brian Merz-Hutchinson
Photos: David Lotz/Lindsey Hanahan

The big winner of the evening was the Arvada Center, which won 13 of the Guild's 21 prizes for its acclaimed production of Victor Hugo's masterpiece, LES MISERABLES. "Les Miz" garnered Henry's for AEA members Beth Flynn (Outstanding Supporting Actress), Stephen Day (Outstanding Supporting Actor), Randall Keith (Outstanding Actor), Kitty Skillman Hilsabeck (Outstanding Choreography) and Rod Lansberry (Outstanding Director). The production also garnered the Outstanding Ensemble Award for cast members Paul Dwyer, Drew Frady, Valerie Hill, Brian Merz-Hutchinson and Heather Fortin Rubald, as well as Henrys for scenic design, costumes, lighting and sound.

Denver AEA members Rachel Fowler, Sam Gregory, Leslie O'Carroll
Photos: David Lotz/Lindsey Hanahan

The Denver Center Theatre Company won the prestigious "Outstanding Season" and "Outstanding Production of A Play" for GLENGARRY GLEN ROSS. AEA members Kathleen M. Brady and Julie Jesnick took home Henry's for THE TRIP TO BOUNTIFUL, while Mike Hartman won Outstanding Supporting Actor for the Mamet production. DCTC also won for Outstanding New Play, Jose Cruz Gonzales' SUNSETS AND MARGARITAS.

The first ever Henry Award for "Special Achievement in Regional Theatre" went to Theatre Aspen. As the recently appointed Artistic Director, Ms. Price enthusiastically accepted the Henry and thanked everyone for welcoming her to the theatrical community: "We were surprised and thrilled to be recognized - this is Theatre Aspen's first award, ever. I hope it raises our profile so that more people will recognize that there's more than just skiing in Aspen. This award really honors the fantastic actors that I have been so lucky to bring out here."

There were several special presentations during the evening. Recognition was given to retired theatre critic Lisa Bornstein, of the now defunct Rocky Mountain News.

Cocktails and a silent auction preceded the affair, which was hosted by the Buntport Theatre's Brian Colonna and Erin Rollman. The comedic duo made the most of the "in-the-round setting" throughout the evening.

Bravo to all of the nominees and winners!

back to actors' equity news index

Home | Members Only | About Equity | Member Benefits | Document Library
FAQ | News and Media | Membership Department | Contact

© 2018 . Actors' Equity Association. Terms of Use | Privacy