AEA Logo
American Stage Actors
AEA home page
News and Media

Member Portal

  Communication Dept.
  Press Room
  News Links
  Filming & Taping
  Annual Study

    Posted March 7, 2008

< Return to 2007 Archives

Central Region Celebrates Diversity

EEO Co-Chair Cheryl Lynn Bruce, Goodman Theatre E.D. Roche Schulfer, CRB/EEO Co-Chair E. Faye Butler
Photo: Chris Lake

The Central Region Equal Employment Opportunity Committee (EEO) presented the second annual Spirit, A Celebration of Diversity reception on February 25, 2008. The event, which honored Actors of Color and minority-focused Central Region theatres, was hosted by the Goodman Theatre.

With over 100 people in attendance, the participating theatres included: About Face, Black Ensemble, Chicago Dramatists, Collaboraction, Court Theatre, Congo Square, Detroit Repertory, Goodman Theatre, Hansberry-Sands, Mixed Blood, Penumbra, St. Louis Black Repertory Company, Teatro Vista, Unicorn Theatre, Urban Theatre Company and Victory Gardens.

EEO Committee co-chairs Cheryl Lynn Bruce and E. Faye Butler and member Ernest Perry Jr. presented the "Spirit Recognition Award" to longtime talent agents Elizabeth Geddes, Harrisse Davidson and Jacquelyn Conard.

"The energy and joy that filled the Goodman balcony lobby was truly exhilarating," said Central Regional Director Kathryn V. Lamkey, "not to mention the fabulous food. Business Rep Luther Goins and the EEO Committee once again created an event that brought together our truly 'diverse' theatre community. Mr. Goins, Ms. Bruce and Ms. Butler, as well as the other members of the Committee, are to be commended for their dedication to Actors of Color, the theatre community as a whole and to Actors' Equity Association." Additional thanks goes to Ariane Dolan and Richard Strimer for providing member education materials for all who attended. It was a welcome addition to the evening.

L-R Agents Harrisse Davidson, Jacquelyn Conard, Elizabeth Geddes
Photo: Chris Lake

AEA members Ernestine Jackson, Sean Blake, Harriet Nzinga Plumpp
Photo: Chris Lake

CRB member Diane Dorsey, Central RD Kathryn V. Lamkey
Photo: Chris Lake

AEA members Brian Weddington, Taron Patton
Photo: Chris Lake

Home | Members Only | About Equity | Member Benefits | Document Library
FAQ | News and Media | Membership Department | Contact

© 2018 . Actors' Equity Association. Terms of Use | Privacy