AEA Logo
American Stage Actors
AEA home page
News and Media

Member Portal

  Communication Dept.
  Press Room
  News Links
  Filming & Taping
  Annual Study

    Updated November 26, 2007

AEA Sponsors LA's Ovation Awards

Steppin' out: Cate Caplin and Councillor Vernon Willett represented AEA at the Ovations. Joining them is Best Choreography winner Lee Martino

THE 2007 OVATION AWARDS, hosted by Neil Patrick Harris took place on Monday, November 12, 2007 at the Orpheum Theatre in Downtown Los Angeles, CA complete with an open bar at the Post-Show Party until midnight. The gala acknowledged excellence in the Los Angeles-area theatres and honored individuals and organizations who have contributed to the city's vibrant theatre scene.

For the first time, Actors' Equity Association became an official sponsor at the OVATIONS with 1st Vice Chair of the Western Regional Board, Vernon Willet as the Union's representative at the affair. " I couldn't have been more pleased to be asked," said Mr. Willet. "Honoring the crème de la crème of the LA theatre scene was a real privilege and what better sponsor than Equity!"

"We are very proud to be part of the Ovations this year," said John P. Connolly, Equity's Executive Director. "While many associate Los Angeles with film and television, there is a thriving theatrical community rich in creativity and talent. Los Angeles theatre is an important leader in the industry."

Cate Caplin and Councillor Vernon Willett

Equity has a strong presence in Los Angeles, with more than 7500 members who live and work in the region, and over 80 theaters that operate under various Equity Agreements. Equity's Western Regional Office is located in Los Angeles, headed by Western Regional Director Susan Wallace. Doug Carfrae is the Western Regional Vice President.

Equity members Kate Burton, Orlando Jones, Dan Lauria, Michelle Lee, Vicki Lewis, Stefanie Powers, Michael Ritchie and Yeardley Smith were among the many presenters at the event. Best or Best Featured Actor awards went to: Alan Mandell (TRYING), Judy Kaye (SOUVENIR), Hershey Felder (GERSHWIN ALONE), Michelle Duffy (CAN-CAN), Hugo Armstrong (BLEED RAIL), Dan Alemsha, (THE FAT OF THE LAND), Judith Moreland (MISS JULIE), David Engel (CAN-CAN), Vicki Lewis (HOTEL C'EST L'AMOUR), and Dael Orlandersmith (Solo Performance).

The LA Stage Alliance Ovation Awards are the only peer-judged theatre awards in Los Angeles. The awards are an invaluable opportunity to bring the theatre community together and focus public attention on the city's diverse cultural life. Each year the Ovation Awards draw national attention to the quality and quantity of professional theatre in Los Angeles. The LA Stage Alliance, which sponsors the awards, represents more than 230 performing arts organizations and over 650 individual members.

Home | Members Only | About Equity | Member Benefits | Document Library
FAQ | News and Media | Membership Department | Contact

© 2018 . Actors' Equity Association. Terms of Use | Privacy