AEA Logo
American Stage Actors
AEA home page
News and Media

Member Portal

  Communication Dept.
  Press Room
  News Links
  Filming & Taping
  Annual Study

    Posted October 6, 2006

< Return to 2006 Archives


5, 6, 7, 8 !
Lorin Latarro Receives Gypsy Robe for A CHORUS LINE

2006-2007 Robe Dedicated to Patrick Quinn

Robe Recipients (L-R): Ramone Flowers (HOT FEET), Lorin Latarro (A CHORUS LINE) and Andy Pellick (TARZAN)
Photo: Walter McBride

Lorin Latarro, a chorus member in A CHORUS LINE, is the newest recipient winner of Equity's legendary Gypsy Robe. The colorful garment was presented to Ms. Latarro during a thrilling ceremony backstage at the Gerald Schoenfeld theatre on opening night (Thursday, October 5, 2006) recreating the time-honored tradition that began over 50 years ago. A CHORUS LINE is the first of ten Broadway chorus musicals in the 2006-2007 season that will be honored with the Gypsy Robe.

Extravagantly decorated with mementos from recent Broadway musicals, the robe is given to the cast member with the most chorus credits. Lorin has performed in six Broadway musicals, including: FOSSE, KISS ME, KATE, MAN OF LA MANCHA, MOVIN' OUT, MONTY PYTHON'S SPAMALOT and WONDERFUL TOWN.

Chorus Councillor Michelle Kittrell, a two-time Gypsy Robe recipient, with 2nd VP and ACCA Chair Jean-Paul Richard
Photo: Walter McBride

Jean-Paul Richard, Equity's Second Vice President and Chair of the ACCA (Advisory Committee on Chorus Affairs) kicked off the ceremony with a special announcement: this season's Gypsy Robe will be dedicated to Patrick Quinn, Equity's former President, who died on September 24th. Vice President Richard then introduced Equity's newly-elected President, Mark Zimmerman, who was chosen by Council on September 26th.

Dee Hoty and Equity President Mark Zimmerman
Photo: Walter McBride

Equity Gypsy Robe Director Terry Marone brought out several former recipients, including Eileen Casey (MARILYN), Harvey Evans (OKLAHOMA!, SWEET CHARITY), Ramon Flowers (HOT FEET), Michelle Kittrell (ALL SHOOK UP, URBAN COWBOY) and Patrick Wetzel (DROWSY CHAPERONE). Choreographer Baayork Lee, who created the role of Connie in A CHORUS LINE, was acknowledged for three Gypsy Robes, including HENRY, SWEET HENRY, and SEESAW.

Choreographer Baayork Lee is a three-time Gypsy Robe recipient
Photo: Walter McBride

Also participating in the ceremony were various Equity Officers, Councillors and Staff: Ira Mont, Third Vice President, Conard Fowkes, Secretary/Treasurer; Councillors Thomas J. Miller and Jeffrey Batemen; Steve DiPaola, National Director Finance and Administration, Mary Lou Westerfield, National Director of Policy; Carol Waaser, Eastern Regional Director and National Director of Contracts; David Lotz, National Communications Director; Business Representatives Louise Foisy and Walt Kiskaddon; Anne Fortuno, Secretary to the President; and former Executive Director Alan Eisenberg.

5,6, 7, 8 ! Tarzan robe recipient Andy Pellick took center stage and announced the newest winner: Lorin Latarro, who circled the stage three times as the entire cast, crew and VIPs touched the robe to receive its blessing. The ceremony concluded with a moment of silence in honor of Michael Bennett and original Chorus Line cast members who, sadly, are no longer with us.

Click here for more Gypsy Robe information...

Lorin Latarro circles the stage as cast members touched the robe
Photo: Walter McBride

Home | Members Only | About Equity | Member Benefits | Document Library
FAQ | News and Media | Membership Department | Contact

© 2018 . Actors' Equity Association. Terms of Use | Privacy