AEA Logo
American Stage Actors
AEA home page
News and Media

Member Portal

  Communication Dept.
  Press Room
  News Links
  Filming & Taping
  Annual Study

   May 4, 2006

< Return to 2006 Archives

Patrick Wetzel Wins Gypsy Robe for THE DROWSY CHAPERONE

Back row: Jay Douglas, Angela Pupello, Patrick Wetzel, Kilty Reidy, Linda Griffin, and Joey Sorge; Front Row: Andrea Chamberlain and Stacia Fernandez
Photo by Walter McBride

Patrick Wetzel, a chorus member in THE DROWSY CHAPERONE, is the latest winner of Equity's legendary Gypsy Robe. The colorful garment was presented to Mr. Wetzel during a thrilling ceremony backstage at the Marquis Theatre on opening night (Monday, May 1, 2006) recreating the time-honored tradition that began over 50 years ago.

Extravagantly decorated with mementos from recent Broadway musicals, the robe is given to the cast member with the most chorus credits. Wetzel has done several Broadway shows, including: THE PRODUCERS, ANNIE GET YOUR GUN, JOSEPH AND THE AMAZING TECHNICOLOR DREAMCOAT, and AIN'T BROADWAY GRAND.

Executive Director Alan Eisenberg, Robe Winner Patrick Wetzel and Equity President Patrick Quinn
Photo by Walter McBride

Equity Gypsy Robe Director Terry Marone kicked off the ceremony by introducing several former recipients, including: Pi Douglass (SELLING OF THE PRESIDENT, THE WIZ), Robin Haynes (BLOOD BROTHERS), and Bill Nabel (BEAUTY AND THE BEAST, MOST HAPPY FELLA). Two cast members from DROWSY CHAPERONE were also acknowledged: Director Casey Nicholaw, who received the Gypsy Robe for THOROUGHLY MODERN MILLIE), and Jennifer Smith, who garnered the robe in ONCE UPON A MATTRESS, HIGH SOCIETY, and THE PRODUCERS. Ramón Flowers who last received the robe for HOT FEET, made the presentation to Mr. Wetzel.

Ms. Marone acknowledged Equity President Patrick Quinn, Third VP Ira Mont, Central Regional VP Dev Kennedy, and Executive Director Alan Eisenberg.

Ramón Flowers, Patrick Wetzel, and Georgia Engel
Photo by Walter McBride

Also in attendance were National Communications Director David Lotz, National Education and Outreach Coordinator Amy Dolan, Chorus Councillor Tom Miller, and Communications Assistant Nicole Yanolatos.

The next Gypsy Robe of the season will be presented at the opening of TARZAN at the Richard Rodgers Theatre on May 10th.

Patrick Wetzel and Sutton Foster
Photo by Walter McBride

Previous Robe winner, Jennifer Smith and Current Robe winner, Patrick Wetzel
Photo by Walter McBride

Click here for more Gypsy Robe information...

Home | Members Only | About Equity | Member Benefits | Document Library
FAQ | News and Media | Membership Department | Contact

© 2018 . Actors' Equity Association. Terms of Use | Privacy