AEA Logo
American Stage Actors
AEA home page
News and Media

Member Portal

  Communication Dept.
  Press Room
  News Links
  Filming & Taping
  Annual Study

   May 8, 2006

< Return to 2006 Archives

Alan Eisenberg Receives Actors' Fund of America's Nedda Harrigan Logan Award

Actress Lynn Redgrave and honoree Alan Eisenberg attend the Actors Fund of America annual gala at Cipriani's 42nd street on May 8, 2006 in New York City

Actors' Equity Association's Executive Director Alan Eisenberg received the Actors' Fund of America's Nedda Harrigan Logan Award at star-studded gala in New York City on Monday, May 8, 2006. The award honors Eisenberg for his outstanding contributions to the theater and his dedication to the entertainment community. Lynn Redgrave presented the award.

Eisenberg, who has served as the Union's Executive Director for the last 25 years, has served five Equity Presidents, including Theodore Bikel, Ellen Burstyn, Colleen Dewhurst, Ron Silver and current President Patrick Quinn. He guided Equity through numerous collective bargaining negotiations, including the 2004 Production Contract, which governs Broadway and the Road and is the flagship agreement for the Union. In that agreement, the incursion of non-Equity tours into traditionally Equity-based venues nationwide was addressed through the innovative Experimental Touring Program proposed by Eisenberg and his negotiating team, resulting in more work for Equity members.

"Alan richly deserves this honor," said President Patrick Quinn. "He has made enormous contributions to this Union that has benefited our members and has become blueprints for others in the entertainment community to follow."

In her introduction, Ms. Redgrave said: "During his tenure, he has fought fearlessly for better wages and working conditions for our members, as well as for more comprehensive health and pension plans. He has been through countless, challenging contract negotiations - always with an eye on what is best for our members. You don't come upon this kind of dedication frequently or easily, so he will be missed."

Eisenberg reflected on the meaning of the award and his dedicated service to the Union: "I am honored to receive this award from The Actors' Fund of America, an organization that is dedicated to serving actors and that takes its mission so seriously. What has been so rewarding is serving the members, watching wonderful performances and seeing actors develop. Theatre has the power to create images that are a means of insight and sympathy. It expresses, better than any other medium, the human condition - of joy, love and loss. So I celebrate, and express my gratitude to all work in any capacity in this industry."

Honoree Alan Eisenberg, actors Lynn Redgrave, Kate Burton, honoree Jed Bernstein and actor Brian Stokes Mitchell attend the Actors' Fund of America annual gala at Cipriani's 42nd street on May 8, 2006 in New York City

In addition to his negotiation responsibilities, Eisenberg represents the Union in such diverse areas as arts funding; federal, state and city legislation affecting arts organizations, artist or unions; zoning and land-marking within the theatrical district; immigration; copyright; recording; and the international exchange of artists.

He is Vice-President of the Executive Committee of Broadway Cares / Equity Fights Aids, and serves on the Board of the Executive Committee of The Actors Fund. He is on the board of Career Transition for Dancers, the Actors' Equity Foundation and the Non-Traditional Casting Project. He is a Vice-President of the Department of Professional Employees (a division of the AFL-CIO), and co-chair of the Coalition of Broadway Unions and Guilds. He is also a member of the Tony Administration Committee. Mr. Eisenberg has been a visiting professor at the Yale School of Drama since 1981, has lectured at Columbia School of Arts Management and at Brooklyn College of Arts Management, and has been a panelist at the National Endowment for the Arts.

The Actors' Fund Nedda Harrigan Logan Award was inspired by former actress and Actors' Fund President Nedda Harrigan Logan. Ms. Logan was the daughter of legendary performer Ned Harrigan, of Harrigan and Hart and the wife of Broadway producer Joshua Logan. She was beloved in the entertainment community and extremely devoted to the Actors' Fund. The Nedda Harrigan Logan Award is a music box that plays the tune "H-A-DOUBLE R-I-G-A-N-SPELLS HARRIGAN" - which was written by Nedda's father and George M. Cohan.

The event, which was attended by over 600 guests, raised almost $1.2 million dollars and was the highest grossing gala in Actors' Fund history. The other honorees were Rocco Landesman and Jed W. Bernstein.

Home | Members Only | About Equity | Member Benefits | Document Library
FAQ | News and Media | Membership Department | Contact

© 2018 . Actors' Equity Association. Terms of Use | Privacy