AEA Logo

The Equity Awards

Members Only

  About Equity Home
  Equity Government
  Offices & Staff
  Contracts & Codes
  AEA Foundation

    Posted June 2, 2016

The Roger Sturtevant Award

Jasmine Easler and Antonio LeRoy King chosen as 2016 recipients of The Actors’ Equity Foundation’s Roger Sturtevant Award


Glenn Bruner

Jasmine Easler

Jasmine Easler and Antonio LeRoy King have been chosen as the 2016 recipients of The Actors’ Equity Foundation’s Roger Sturtevant Award. The Roger Sturtevant Award is given annually to one male and one female Equity Membership Candidate (EMC) who have each demonstrated outstanding talent and skill in musical theatre. The recipients are chosen based on an application, recommendation letters, and a video audition that are then evaluated by a panel of Foundation members and CSA Casting Directors.
Easler was described by one mentor when he said, “Her work has a maturity that one rarely sees in someone her age.” She has already performed onstage at The Human Race Theatre Company, where she was also awarded the Stephen Schwartz Musical Theatre Scholarship. About to graduate from Wright State University, she said of receiving the Sturtevant Award,

Glenn Bruner

Antonio LeRoy King

“It’s a really encouraging nudge to leave the nest knowing that everything will work itself out.”
King was praised by one colleague who said, “This young man has the potential to go far.” He has already performed several times on the Beef & Boards stage, an Equity Dinner Theatre. He is about to graduate from the University of Southern Indiana and said of receiving the Sturtevant Award, “I'm so happy this foundation and award will promote me to other places.”

The Actors’ Equity Foundation website is


Award pages:

Arizona Theatre Service
Diversity on Broadway

Roger Sturtevant began a show business career as box office treasurer (and sometimes as casting director) for summer theaters in the northeast, including the New London Barn Playhouse in New Hampshire and the Pocono Playhouse in Mountainhome, PA. On Broadway he served as assistant treasurer in several theater box offices, including the Winter Garden during the original run of Follies, his favorite musical. After his passing, Roger’s family contacted Equity’s Foundation to set up the award. Jane Sturtevant Johnson notes, “Inspired by the many expressions of gratitude and heartfelt appreciation, we are proud and happy to announce the establishment of an award in Roger’s name to be given to talented new actors and actresses in the musical theatre.”

The award was established in 2005 and is supported by donations from Roger's friends and family.

Recipients of the Roger Sturtevant Award are:

Year Recipient
2005 Meegan Midkiff
Nick Verina
2006 Erin Driscoll
John Pinto
2007 Janine Romano
Scott Reardon
2008 Chelsea Cree Groen
Ricardo Rust
2009 Kalyn Hemphill
Aaron Reeder
2010 Jessica Taige
Isaac Benelli
2011 Dayna Dantzler
Edward Miskie
2012 Emelie Faith Thompson
Matthew Elliott
2013 Katie Wesler
Robert Ariza
2014 Amelia Millar
Daniel Hines
2015 Amanda Hartley Urteaga
Nichalas Parker
2016 Jasmine Easler
Antonio LeRoy King

Home | Members Only | About Equity | Member Benefits | Document Library
FAQ | News and Media | Membership Department | Contact

© 2018 . Actors' Equity Association. Terms of Use | Privacy