AEA Logo

The Equity Awards

Members Only

  About Equity Home
  Equity Government
  Offices & Staff
  Contracts & Codes
  AEA Foundation


Kathryn V. Lamkey Award

The 2015 “Kathy” is awarded to Joyce Foundation President Ellen Alberding

The twelfth annual Spirit: A Celebration of Diversity event, which honors individuals, theater companies and organizations that provide opportunities for members of color to audition and work in Chicago and in the central region, was held on March 16, 2015.

The ceremony was hosted at the Chicago Shakespeare Theater on Navy Pier, where the 2015 Kathryn V. Lamkey Award (“Kathy”) was presented to Ellen Alberding, president of the Joyce Foundation.

With great support and enthusiasm, Alberding was honored for her work with the Joyce Foundation in the Great Lakes region as a long-time supporter of minority theater and artists. Many of Equity’s central region actors, dancers, singers, stage managers and employers feel that their careers might not have been possible without Alberding’s unparalleled dedication to the arts in the Midwest.

National EEO Co-Chair E. Faye Butler welcomed the room and provided a brief history of the Spirit Celebration by reminding the audience that the event started in 1999 as a simple ice cream social. More than a decade later, the intent of the early  “social,” which was to bring members and other theatre professionals together to celebrate diversity within its community, has proudly remained true to its original vision.  

The event is presented by Equity’s Equal Employment Opportunity Committee (EEO) and co-sponsored by the award-winning Chicago Shakespeare Theater.

On hand to present the 2015 Kathryn V. Lamkey Award to Ellen Alberding (center right) was (L to R)  E. Faye Butler, National EEO Committee Co-Chair; Dev Kennedy, Central Regional Vice Chair; Ron OJ Parson, National EEO Committee Member; and Sean F. Taylor, Central Regional Director/Assistant to the Executive Director.



Award pages:

Arizona Theatre Service
Diversity on Broadway

Recipients of the Kathryn V. Lamkey Award are:
Year Recipient Company/Theatre/Organization
2008 Elizabeth Geddes Chicago Agent
Harrise Davidson Chicago Agent
Jacquelyn Conard Chicago Agent
2009 Charlie Newell Court Theatre, Chicago, IL
Jack Reuler Mixed Blood Theatre, Minneapolis, MN
Dennis Zacek Victory Gardens Theatre, Chicago, IL
Roche Schulfer and Robert Falls Goodman Theatre, Chicago, IL
2010 William "Bill" Brown Independent Director
Ron "OJ" Parson Independent Director
Russ Tutterow Independent Director
Frank Galati Independent Director
2011 Cree Rankin Court Theatre
Michelle T. Boone Joyce Foundation
Kathryn V. Lamkey Central Regional Director, Actors’ Equity
2012 Erica Daniels Steppenwolf Theatre
Evan Hatfield Steppenwolf Theatre
Lois Weisberg Chicago’s Commissioner of Cultural Affairs
Luther Goins Central Region Business Representative
2013 Sandy Shinner Producer, Director, Theatre Instructor
Jamil Khoury Silk Road Rising
2014 E. Faye Butler AEA Member
Tom Joyce AEA Member
2015 Ellen Alberding Joyce Foundation President
2016 Barbara Gaines Chicago Shakespeare Theater Founder and Artistic Director
Criss Henderson Chicago Shakespeare Theater Executive Director
Chuck Smith Goodman Theatre Resident Director
Henry Godinez Goodman Theatre Resident Artistic Associate

Home | Members Only | About Equity | Member Benefits | Document Library
FAQ | News and Media | Membership Department | Contact

© 2018 . Actors' Equity Association. Terms of Use | Privacy