AEA Logo

The Equity Awards

Members Only

  About Equity Home
  Equity Government
  Offices & Staff
  Contracts & Codes
  AEA Foundation


Kathryn V. Lamkey Award


by Luther Goins
Central Region Business Representative


A Celebration of Diversity
(L-R) Central Regional VP Dev Kennedy, CRB/EEOC member Diane Dorsey, CRD Christine Provost, award winners Sandy Shinner and Jamil Khoury; EEOC member Julie Proudfoot and CRB/EEOC Chair E. Faye Butler

The Central Region Equal Employment Opportunity Committee (EEOC) presented the tenth annual Spirit, a Celebration of Diversity on Monday, March 18, 2013 at Chicago’s Smart Museum and at the award-winning Court Theatre.

Spirit, a Celebration of Diversity, honors Central Region Members of Color, minority-based and focused theatres, and theatres that make non-traditional casting a priority all season long.

The outstanding list of theatres include: About Face Theatre; Bailiwick Chicago; Black Ensemble Theater; Chicago Dramatists; Chicago Shakespeare Theater; Collaboraction; Court Theatre; Congo Square Theatre; Definition Theatre Company; Goodman Theatre; Pegasus Players; Porchlight Music Theatre; Remy Bumppo; Silk Road Rising; Southport Theatre; Steppenwolf; Teatro Vista; Teatro Luna; Urban Theatre Company; and Victory Gardens.

In the central region, but outside of the office city, we honor and celebrate Writer’s Theatre (Glencoe, Illinois); 16th Street Theatre (Berwyn, Illinois); Marriott Theatre (Lincolnshire, Illinois); Drury Lane Oakbrook (Oakbrook, Illinois); Theatre at the Center (Munster, Indiana); the Detroit Repertory Theatre; Cincinnati’s Ensemble Theatre Company; Milwaukee’s Hansberry-Sands, Uprooted, Next-Act, and Renaissance Theatre Companies; the Human Race Theatre Company in Dayton, Ohio; Mixed Blood and Penumbra Theatre Companies in Minneapolis; the St. Louis Black Rep Theatre Company; and the Unicorn Theatre in Kansas City.

The Kathryn V. Lamkey Award, named after the recently retired Central Regional Director and presented annually at the Spirit Celebration, honors those individuals and/or organizations that continue to open doors to all types of opportunities for central region Members of Color.  Two, long past due, Kathryn V. Lamkey Awards were presented at this year’s celebration.  One award went to Director, Theatre Instructor, and Producer Sandy Shinner. The other went to Director, Playwright, and Silk Road Rising Founder and Artistic Director Jamil Khoury.

Still honoring  the EEO: One Voice brand, which was adopted by the Western, Central, and Eastern EEO Committees in 2009, Spirit, a Celebration of Diversity opened with (the now annual) performance of One Voice, the dynamic and uniting song by Butch Stewart.  One Voice was performed by the Central Region AFTRA Singers (Greta Pope, Paul Zimmerman, Kevin Smith, Wendy Morgan, Arlette Carr, Kebin Carr, and Barbara Martin).

Bravo SPIRIT! Bravo Central Region!


Award pages:

Arizona Theatre Service
Diversity on Broadway
Spirit of Diversity

Recipients of the Kathryn V. Lamkey Award are:
Year Recipient Company/Theatre/Organization
2008 Elizabeth Geddes Chicago Agent
Harrise Davidson Chicago Agent
Jacquelyn Conard Chicago Agent
2009 Charlie Newell Court Theatre, Chicago, IL
Jack Reuler Mixed Blood Theatre, Minneapolis, MN
Dennis Zacek Victory Gardens Theatre, Chicago, IL
Roche Schulfer and Robert Falls Goodman Theatre, Chicago, IL
2010 William "Bill" Brown Independent Director
Ron "OJ" Parson Independent Director
Russ Tutterow Independent Director
Frank Galati Independent Director
2011 Cree Rankin Court Theatre
Michelle T. Boone Joyce Foundation
Kathryn V. Lamkey Central Regional Director, Actors’ Equity
2012 Erica Daniels Steppenwolf Theatre
Evan Hatfield Steppenwolf Theatre
Lois Weisberg Chicago’s Commissioner of Cultural Affairs
Luther Goins Central Region Business Representative
2013 Sandy Shinner Producer, Director, Theatre Instructor
Jamil Khoury Silk Road Rising
2014 E. Faye Butler AEA Member
Tom Joyce AEA Member  

Home | Members Only | About Equity | Member Benefits | Document Library
FAQ | News and Media | Membership Department | Contact

© 2018 . Actors' Equity Association. Terms of Use | Privacy