AEA Logo

The Equity Awards

Members Only

  About Equity Home
  Equity Government
  Offices & Staff
  Contracts & Codes
  AEA Foundation


Paul Robeson Citation Award


AEA has named Emmy-Award winning director/producer and writer William Greaves as the recipient of the 2012 Paul Robeson Award. Created in 1971, the Award recognizes a person who best exemplifies the principles by which Mr. Robeson lived. The award was presented Mr. Greaves and his family at the October 12 Eastern Regional Membership Meeting at the Union's headquarters in New York City.

William Greaves got his start in the film industry in front of the camera. He joined Actors' Equity in 1945 and worked on television, in film, and on Broadway from 1946 to 1952. He first appeared as an actor at the American Negro Theater, and later played the lead role in the stage production of A YOUNG AMERICAN. He was a featured actor in the Broadway hit LOST in the Stars, and was part of the all-black cast of the 1948 feature film Miracle in Harlem, and in The Fight Never Ends, which starred heavyweight boxing champion Joe Louis. In 1948, Greaves joined The Actor's Studio and studied alongside the likes of Marlon Brando, Julie Harris, Anthony Quinn, Shelley Winters, and others.

Greaves grew dissatisfied with the roles in which he was being cast, which were often stereotypes and derivative due to racism prevalent throughout American culture at the time, and turned his attention to film-making. He left the US in the 1950s to work for the National Film Board of Canada, where he edited, wrote and directed over 80 National Film Board films. He returned to the US in the early 1960s and worked for the US Information Agency's film division at the UN, where he made documentaries including The First World Festival of Negro Art (1966) featuring performances by such leading African-American artists as composer Duke Ellington, choreographers Alvin Ailey and Katherine Dunham, and poet Langston Hughes.

From 1968 to 1970, Greaves was Executive Producer and co-host of the ground-breaking public affairs series Black Journal, which earned him an Emmy award.

Greaves returned to film-making and released Ali, the Fighter, which focused on uhammad Ali's first attempt to regain his heavyweight title. A few of his other film credits include: From These Roots, an in-depth study of the Harlem Renaissance; Booker T. Washington: Life and Legacy; Frederick Douglass: An American Life; Black Power in America: Myth or Reality?; and Ida B. Wells: An American Odyssey, which was narrated by Nobel- and Pulitzer Prize-winning author Toni Morrison. Retrospectives of Greave's 200+ documentaries and films have been held at the Museum of Modern Art and the Brooklyn Museum.

In 2001, Greaves released one of his most ambitious works, Ralph Bunche: An American Odyssey. Ten years in the making and narrated by Sidney Poitier, this two-hour PBS special paid tribute to one of the key, yet often overlooked, political figures in American history and the Civil Rights Movement.

His work behind the camera has earned him over 70 international film festival awards and four Emmy nominations. In 1980 he was inducted into the Black Filmmakers Hall of Fame, and in the same year he was the recipient of a special homage at the first Black American Independent Film Festival in Paris. He was recently honored by the National Black Theater and Film Festival with its first award for Lifelong Achievement in Film and for Contributions to Black Theater.

To view a complete list of previous Paul Robeson Award recipients, click here...

Julia Breanetta Simpson and William Greavesí children Maiya Greaves and David Greaves.


Award pages:

Arizona Theatre Service
Diversity on Broadway

On June 1, 1971, the Council of Actors' Equity Association established what is now known as the Paul Robeson Committee, and designated Frederick O'Neal as Chair. The Committee resolved to present annual citations to the individual or organization that, during the preceding year or years, best exemplified and practiced the principles and ideals of this great humanitarian, Paul Robeson. For a complete list of recipients click here.

Paul Robeson as Othello

Recipients of the Paul Robeson Award are:

Year Recipient
1974 Paul Robeson
1975 Ossie Davis & Ruby Dee
1976 Lillian Hellman
1977 Pete Seeger
1978 Sam Jaffe
1979 Harry Belafonte
1980 Alice Childress
1981 Studs Terkel
1982 Ed Asner
1983 John Henry Faulk
1984 Lena Horne
1985 Arthur Mitchell
1986 Vinie Burrows
1987 Joe Papp
1988 Jacques D'Amboise
1989 Bill Ross & Dr. Margaret Burroughs
1990 Maya Angelou
1991 Gordon Parks
1992 Art D'Lugoff
1993 Katherine Dunham
1994 Lloyd Richards
1995 Gil Noble
1996 George C. Wolfe
1997 Athol Fugard
1998 Leonard Etienne de Paul
1999 Loften Mitchell
2000 Rosetta LeNoire
2001 Brock Peters
2002 Gertrude Jeanette
2003 Woodie King, Jr.
2004 Judith Jamison
2005 Carl Harms
2006 Bill Cosby
2007 Mercedes Ellington
2008 Sidney Poitier
2009 Micki Grant
2010 Charles Randolph-Wright
2011 James Earl Jones
2012 William Greaves
2013 Shauneille Perry
2014 Baayork Lee
2015 Arthur French
2016 ASTEP
2017 Jamal Joseph

Home | Members Only | About Equity | Member Benefits | Document Library
FAQ | News and Media | Membership Department | Contact

© 2018 . Actors' Equity Association. Terms of Use | Privacy