AEA Logo

The Equity Awards

Members Only

  About Equity Home
  Equity Government
  Offices & Staff
  Contracts & Codes
  AEA Foundation


The Rosetta LeNoire Award

Mia Katigbak And National Asian-American Theatre Company Receive Actors' Equity's Rosetta LeNoire Award On April 7, 2006

Equity's prestigious Rosetta LeNoire Award has been given to Mia Katigbak, co-founder and Artistic Director of the National Asian-American Theatre Company (NAATCO). The award, created by Actors' Equity Association in 1988 to honor Ms. LeNoire's contribution to the American theatre, was presented at the Union's April 7 General Membership meeting held in New York City.

Ms. Katigbak co-founded the NAATCO in 1989 with Richard Eng to promote and support Asian American actors, directors, designers and technicians. The mission of NAATCO is to develop an Asian-American audience and encourage Asian-Americans to become a significant part of the diverse audience in American theatre and to cultivate an appreciation of Asian-American contributions to the theatre arts in America today. NAATCO performs European and American classical and contemporary works as written, and without forced Asian associations. This approach provides valuable training and is able to reach across ethnic boundaries to faithfully serve the text while reflecting the changing face of America today.

"Thank you so much for the wonderful honor," said Katigbak. "This is truly significant for NAATCO and that the recognition comes from AEA is all the more meaningful."

NAATCO is the recipient of a 1999 Obie Award and has produced plays by such noted playwrights as Chekhov, Strindberg, Albee, Moliere, O'Neill and Shakespeare. In 2005, the company presented the world premiere of COWBOY V. SAMURAI and IVANOV. Both productions opened to critical acclaim in the New York press.

The Rosetta LeNoire Award is given to individuals and theatre companies that have made significant contributions toward increasing diversity and non-traditional casting in the theatre. The award is administered by Equity's Equal Employment Opportunity (EEO) Committee. Past recipients include: The New Federal Theatre, the Mixed Blood Theatre, Milwaukee Rep, the Wheelock Theatre, Deaf West, and Victory Gardens Theatre.


Award pages:

Arizona Theatre Service

Established in 1988, the award was named in honor of the actress Rosetta LeNoire, who was also the first recipient, not only because of her body of work in the theatre - and her work with the then titled Actors' Equity Association's Ethnic Minorities Committee - but also for founding the AMAS Repertory Theatre Company

Recipients of the Rosetta LeNoire Award are:

Year Recipient
1989 Rosetta LeNoire
1990 Mixed Blood Theatre, Minneapolis
1991 Milwaukee Repertory Theatre
1992 Joseph Papp & the New York Shakespeare Festival
1993 Crossroads Theatre, New Brunswick
1994 Wynn Handman and The American Place Theatre
1995 Philip Rose
1996 Ellen Stewart, artistic director, La MaMa E.T.C.
1997 Walter J. Turnbull, Boys Choir of Harlem
1998 Sacramento Light Opera Association
1999 Dennis Zacek and Marcelle McVay, Victory Gardens Theatre
2000 Wheelock Family Theatre, Boston MA
2001 Sharon Jensen, The Non-Traditional Casting Project / Doug Mann, The Chicago Theatre Company
2002 Eric Krebs
2003 North Shore Music Theatre/Deaf West Theatre
2004 Kitty Lunn and Infinity Dance Theatre
2005 Woodie King, Jr.
2006 Mia Katigbak And National Asian-American Theatre Company
2007 Willie Boston
2008 Detroit Repertory Theatre
2009 Bethune Theatredanse
2010 Jackie Taylor
2011 Shakespeare Center of Los Angeles
2012 Philadelphia's InterAct Theatre Company
2013 Christine Toy Johnson
2014 The San Francisco Mime Troupe
2015 Weston Playhouse Theatre Company
2016 E. Faye Butler
2017 Joseph Haj and the Guthrie Theater
Ten Thousand Things Theater

Home | Members Only | About Equity | Member Benefits | Document Library
FAQ | News and Media | Membership Department | Contact

© 2018 . Actors' Equity Association. Terms of Use | Privacy