AEA Logo

The Equity Awards

Members Only

  About Equity Home
  Equity Government
  Offices & Staff
  Contracts & Codes
  AEA Foundation


The Joe A. Callaway Award

Lisa Harrow, Corey Stoll Receive Equity Foundation Classic Theatre Award

Lisa Harrow and Corey Stoll received the 2016 Joe A. Callaway Award presented by the Actors’ Equity Foundation. The award, honoring the best performance in a professional production of a classic play (written prior to 1920) in the New York metropolitan area, was presented at Actors’ Equity Association’s Eastern Regional Membership Meeting on January 9, 2017, in New York City and includes a $1,000 check plus a commemorative engraved plaque for each recipient. Due to other commitments, neither actor was present, but each chose an artistic collaborator to present and receive the award on their behalf. Michael Sexton, who directed Harrow’s award-winning performance as Volumnia in Red Bull Theater’s Coriolanus, spoke of “her fierce passion that she has for the world, for the planet, for theatre, for politics, for her art and her fellow artists.”

Sexton praised Harrow’s ability to elevate the character of a “possessive, controlling and ambitious mother” to that of “an actual woman filled with complexities, terrors, beauties, faults and virtues that we find every day in our own mothers.”

He went on to say, “It is that complexity and emotional resonance that she brings to everything she does.” Sexton then read prepared remarks from Harrow, who was abroad witnessing the birth of her grandchild in New Zealand. In thanking the Foundation for this honor, Harrow wrote, “Volumnia was a joy to play. The role embraced such an astonishing range, from the heights of joy to the depths of raw pain. That is why actors love to play Shakespeare; no writer has expressed the human experience with more nuance and more devastating honesty. I am proud to join such a powerful group of actors honored for their performances in the classical canon.“

Prior to her performance as in Coriolanus, Harrow has appeared in regional theatre including the Denver Center Theatre, the George Street Theatre (New Brunswick, NJ), La Jolla Playhouse, the National Actors Theatre, the Pittsburgh Public Theater, Santa Fe Stage, Seattle Rep and the Shakespeare Theatre of New Jersey. She has also performed at the Williamstown Theatre Festival and Off-Broadway in Phallacy, Things We Do For Love (Roundabout) and Wit. Corey Stoll was cited for his performance as Ulysses in the Public Theater’s Shakespeare in the Park production of Troilus and Cressida. His award was presented and accepted by his castmate Louis Cancelmi, who received the Foundation’s St. Clair Bayfield award for the same production.

Cancelmi praised his castmate both for making him feel welcome when he joined (late in rehearsal) the production as Achilles, and for his facility with language, saying “he had a way of taking these big blocks of language and not only making them extraordinarily clear, but really illuminating the character of Ulysses through the language. It was a really great thing to watch every night.” The judges for the Callaway Award are Joe Dziemianowicz, Daily News; Adam Feldman, Time Out New York; Susan Haskins, Theater Talk; Harry Haun, Playbill; and David Rosenberg, The Hour Newspapers. Previous recipients of the Callaway Award include Kate Burton, Byron Jennings, Frank Langella, Laura Linney, Lily Rabe, Liev Schreiber and, in 2014, Suzanne Bertish and Paxton Whitehead. The Actors’ Equity Foundation, a philanthropic and humanitarian nonprofit organization, was created in 1962 to aid and assist members of the acting profession and to promote the theatre arts. It is separate from Actors’ Equity Association and is funded by estate bequests and individual donations.


Award pages:

Arizona Theatre Service
Diversity on Broadway

Established by Equity member Joe A. Callaway in 1989 to encourage participation in the classics and non-profit theatre.

Recipients of the Joe A. Callaway Award are:

Year Recipient Role Play Production
1989 Alfre Woodard Paulina THE WINTER'S TALE New York Shakespeare Festival
Victor Garber Richard Dudgeon THE DEVIL'S DISCIPLE Circle in the Square
1990 Philip Bosco Harpagon THE MISER Circle in the Square
Mary Alice Margaret RICHARD III New York Shakespeare Festival
1991 Campbell Scott Pericles PERICLES, PRINCE OF TYRE New York Shakespeare Festival
Mary Beth Hurt Emilia OTHELLO New York Shakespeare Festival
1992 Jake Weber Orlando AS YOU LIKE IT New York Shakespeare Festival
Maryann Plunkett Masha
Marcelle Paillardin
National Actors Theatre
1993 Robert Sean Leonard Marchbanks CANDIDA Roundabout
Maryann Plunkett Joan of Arc SAINT JOAN National Actors Theatre
1994 Robert Stattel Titus Andronicus TITUS ANDRONICUS Theatre for a New Audience
Laura Linney Thea Elvsted HEDDA GABLER Roundabout Theatre
1995 Brian Bedford Sganarelle THE MOLIERE COMEDIES Roundabout
Laila Robins Portia THE MERCHANT OF VENICE New York Shakespeare Festival
1996 Frank Langella The Captain THE FATHER Roundabout
Kathleen Chalfant Mistress Quickly
Queen of France
New York Shakespeare Festival
1997 Max Wright Pavel Lebedev IVANOV Vivian Beaumont
Helen Carey Lady Gay Spanker LONDON ASSURANCE Roundabout
1998 Liev Schreiber Iachimo / Jupiter CYMBELINE New York Shakespeare Festival
Zoe Wanamaker Electra ELECTRA Barrymore Theatre
1999 Anne Dudek Iphigenia IPHIGENIA Theater for a New Audience
No male choice
2000 Byron Jennings Henry Trebell WASTE Theatre for a New Audience
Myra Carter Eleanor KING JOHN Theatre for a New Audience
2001 Larry Pine The Doctor THE SEAGULL Shakespeare in the Park
Kate Burton Hedda Gabler HEDDA GABLER Ambassador Theatre
2002 Evan Robertson Claudio MUCH ADO ABOUT NOTHING Pearl Theatre
Celeste Ciulla Miss Kate Hardcastle SHE STOOPS TO CONQUER Pearl Theatre
2003 Earl Hindman Julius Caesar JULIUS CAESAR Theatre For A New Audience
Kathryn Meisle Elmire TARTUFFE Roundabout Theatre
Carol Schultz Mrs. Malaprop THE RIVALS Pearl Theatre Co.
2004 Joanne Camp Toinette THE IMAGINARY INVALID Pearl Theatre Company
Robert Hock Argan THE IMAGINARY INVALID Pearl Theatre Company
2005 Elizabeth Marvel Hedda Gabler HEDDA GABLER NY Theatre Workshop
Sean McNall Mr. Paris THE GENTLEMAN DANCING-MASTER Pearl Theatre Company
2006 Lily Rabe Ellie Dunn HEARTBREAK HOUSE Roundabout Theatre Co.
Michael Stuhlbarg   THE VOYSEY INHERITANCE Atlantic Theatre Co.
2007 Lauren Ambrose Juliet ROMEO AND JULIET The Public Theatre
Byron Jennings Bastien André IS HE DEAD?  
2008 Kathryn Meisle   WOMEN BEWARE WOMEN Red Bull Theatre
Everett Quinton   WOMEN BEWARE WOMEN Red Bull Theatre
2009 Kate Forbes   OTHELLO New Audience
John Douglas Thompson   OTHELLO / THE EMPEROR JONES New Audience / The Irish Repertory Theatre
2010 Lily Rabe Portia THE MERCHANT OF VENICE Public Theatre
Matthew Rauch Bosola THE DUCHESS OF MALFI Red Bull Theater
2011 Danai Gurira Isabella MEASURE FOR MEASURE Public Theatre
Derek Smith Dog THE WITCH OF EDMONTON Red Bull Theater
2012 Merritt Wever Sonya UNCLE VANYA Soho Rep
Michael Shannon Astrov UNCLE VANYA Soho Rep
2013 Jonathan Cake Benedick MUCH ADO ABOUT NOTHING Theatre for a New Audience
J. Smith-Cameron JUNO JUNO AND THE PAYCOCK Irish Rep
2014 Suzanne Bertish Madame Argent THE HEIR APPARENT Classic Stage Company
Paxton Whitehead Geronte THE HEIR APPARENT Classic Stage Company
2015 Kelley Curran Hippolita 'TIS A PITY SHE'S A WHORE Red Bull Theater
Thomas Jay Ryan Dr. Shpigelsky A MONTH IN THE COUNTRY Classic Stage Company
2016 Corey Stoll Ulysses TROILUS AND CRESSIDA Public Theater’s Shakespeare in the Park
Lisa Harrow Volumnia CORIOLANUS Red Bull Theater

Home | Members Only | About Equity | Member Benefits | Document Library
FAQ | News and Media | Membership Department | Contact

© 2018 . Actors' Equity Association. Terms of Use | Privacy