AEA Logo

The Equity Awards

Members Only

  About Equity Home
  Equity Government
  Offices & Staff
  Contracts & Codes
  AEA Foundation


The St. Clair Bayfield Award

Amanda Quaid Garners Equity Foundation Shakespeare Award

Amanda Quaid received the annual St. Claire Bayfield Award presented by the Actors’ Equity Foundation for her performance in Shakespeare’s Pericles, Prince of Tyre presented by the Public Theater’s Mobile Shakespeare Unit. The production toured mental health shelters, recreational centers and correctional facilities in Manhattan’s five boroughs before settling in for a run at the Public’s Lafayette Street home.

The award was presented during Equity’s Eastern Regional Membership Meeting on January 9, 2015, at the Equity office in New York City.

Established in 1973 in memory of Equity member St. Clair Bayfield, the award honors the best performance in a supporting role by an Actor in a Shakespearean play in the New York City metropolitan area. The recipient receives a $1,000 check and an engraved crystal plaque.

No stranger to Shakespeare, Amanda Quaid got her Equity card playing Rosalind in As You Like It at the Folger Shakespeare Theatre in Washington, D.C. She made her Broadway debut in 2008 in Equus. Quaid starred Off-Broadway in the U.S. premiere of Mike Bartlett’s Cock and was nominated for the 2013 Lucille Lortel Award for her performance in Luck of the Irish at Lincoln Center/LCT3. Other credits include the world premiere of Christopher Durang’s Not a Creature Was Stirring at the Flea theatre, as well as performances at Playwright Horizons, Signature Theater, Soho Rep, Classic Stage Company, Atlantic Theater Company, Irish Rep, The Old Globe and Culture Project.

“I was told that acting, at best, is a public service,” she said upon accepting the award. “I believe that. This award is a great reminder that every audience, on some level, is at need for what we do.”

Previous recipients of the St. Clair Bayfield Award include: Carmen de Lavallade, Dana Ivey, Charles Kimbrough, Nathan Lane, Brian Murray, Bradley Whitford, and, in 2013, Tina Benko.

The Actors’ Equity Foundation, a philanthropic and humanitarian non-profit organization, was created in 1962 to aid and assist the members of the acting profession and to promote the theatre arts. It is separate from Actors’ Equity Association and is funded by estate bequests and individual donations.

2014 Joe A. Callaway Award recipient Suzanne Bertish, 2014 St. Claire Bayfield Award recipient Amanda Quaid, Actors’ Equity Foundation President Arne Gunderson, 2014 Joe A. Callaway Award recipient Paxton Whitehead and AEA President Nick Wyman.
Photo: Stephanie Masucci


Award pages:

Arizona Theatre Service
Diversity on Broadway

Established in 1973 in memory of Equity member St. Clair Bayfield, the Award honors the best performance by an actor in a Shakespearean play in the New York metropolitan area.

Recipients of the St. Clair Bayfield Award are:

Year Recipient Role Play Production
1973 Barnard Hughes Dogberry MUCH ADO ABOUT NOTHING New York Shakespeare Festival
1974 Randy Kim Trinculo THE TEMPEST New York Shakespeare Festival
1975 John Glover Clown THE WINTER'S TALE New York Shakespeare Festival
1976 Carolyne McWilliams Mariana MEASURE FOR MEASURE New York Shakespeare Festival
1977 No Award
1978 Carmen DeLavalape Emelia OTHELLO New York Shakespeare Festival
1979 Robert Christian Aufidius CORIOLANUS New York Shakespeare Festival
1980 No award
1981 Ralph Drischell Earl of Worchester HENRY IV New York Shakespeare Festival
1982 Tom Spackman Edmund KING LEAR New York Shakespeare Festival
1983 Concetta Tomei Queen Elizabeth RICHARD III New York Shakespeare Festival
1984 Anthony Heald Fluellen HENRY V New York Shakespeare Festival
1985 No award
1986 Nathan Lane Pompey MEASURE FOR MEASURE New York Shakespeare Festival
1987 No Award
1988 Bradley Witford Paris ROMEO AND JULIET New York Shakespeare Festival
1989 Keith David Aufidius CORLIOLANUS New York Shakespeare Festival
1990 Dana Ivey Gertrude HAMLET New York Shakespeare Festival
1991 Bryon Jennings Pericles PERICLES New York Shakespeare Festival
1992 Elizabeth McGovern Rosalind AS YOU LIKE IT New York Shakespeare Festival
1993 Michael Cumpsty Alcibiades TIMON OF ATHENS National Theatre
1994 Malcom Gets Proteus TWO GENTLEMEN OF VERONA New York Shakespeare Festival
1995 Stephen Spinella Pandarus TROILUS & CRESSIDA New York Shakespeare Festival
1996 Nicholas Kepros Escalus MEASURE FOR MEASURE Theatre for a New Audience
1997 Jayne Atkinson Katherine HENRY VIII New York Shakespeare Festival
1998 Brian Murray Toby Belch TWELFTH NIGHT Lincoln Center
1999 Max Wright Christopher Sly TAMING OF THE SHREW New York Shakespeare Festival
2000 Rachel Botchan Lady Ann RICHARD III Pearl Theatre
2001 Andrew Weems Thersites TROILUS & CRESSIDA Theatre for a New Audience
2002 Ray Virta Benedick MUCH ADO ABOUT NOTHING Pearl Theatre
2003 Dakin Matthews Glendower / Warwick HENRY IV Lincoln Center's Vivian Beaumont Theatre
2004 Carman Lacivita multiple characters ROSE RAGE: HENRY VI, 1,2,3 Chicago Shakespeare Theater
2005 Colm Feore Cassius JULIUS CAESAR  
2006 George Morfogen Duke of York RICHARD II Classic Stage Company
2007 Jay O. Sanders Bottom A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM Public Theatre
2008 Stark Sands   THE TEMPEST Classic Stage Company
2009 David Pittu   TWELFTH NIGHT Public Theatre’s Shakespeare in the Park
2010 Charles Kimbrough Prince of Arragon THE MERCHANT OF VENICE Public Theatre
2011 Nick Westrate Berowne LOVE’S LABOR’S LOST Public Theatre
2012 David Furr Orlando AS YOU LIKE IT Public Theatre
2014 Amanda Quaid Dionyza PERICLES, PRINCE OF TYRE Public Theater Mobile Shakespeare Unit
Home | Members Only | About Equity | Member Benefits | Casting Call | Document Library
FAQ | News and Media | Membership Department | Contact

© 2015 . Actors' Equity Association . Terms of Use