AEA Logo

The Equity Awards

Members Only

  About Equity Home
  Equity Government
  Offices & Staff
  Contracts & Codes
  AEA Foundation


The Arizona Theatre Service Award

2010 AZ Theatre Service Award Presented to AEA Member Judy Rollings

Judy Rollings

At a reception prior to the Equity Spring General Meeting at Phoenix Theatre on Monday, June 21, the Phoenix/Tucson Equity Liaison Committee presented long-time Equity member Judy Rollings with the 2010 Arizona Theatre Service Award.

The Theatre Service Award is presented annually by Arizona's Actors' Equity members to recognize significant contribution and service to the Arizona theatre community. "Judy was selected this year because of her many years of promoting professional theatre in Phoenix, as well as her part in establishing one of the most critically acclaimed theatres in the state," said Tony Hodges, Chair of the Arizona Equity Liaison Committee. "A great many of the state's actors-Equity and non-Equity-have worked with Judy at one time or another during their careers," he added, "and she continues to serve as a mentor, supporter and inspiration to Arizona's theatre community."

During the presentation of the award, Ms. Rollings said, "It has always been a gift and a privilege to work in theatre in our town, and whatever I have been able to do to further our 'cause' has more than repaid me artistically, emotionally and spiritually. I have been fortunate indeed."

Ms. Rollings began her career in theater as an actress, but has extensive directing credits as well. She was a founding member of Actors Theatre of Phoenix, and served as its Artistic Director for over eight years. During her tenure Actors Theatre won the Critics Circle Award for Innovative Programming and the New Times Award for the Best Professional Theater. Judy is also a recipient of the Phoenix Gazette's award for Best Director of a Drama. She is presently the Performance Outreach Director for the Herberger Theater Center where she is the Director of the Lunch Time Theatre Program. In 1995 Judy received a Lifetime Award for Outstanding Contribution to Theater in Phoenix from the metropolitan Phoenix theatre awards, the "ariZonis."

Past recipients of the Arizona Theatre Service Award include former theatre critic Max McQueen, university professors/actors/directors David Vining (ASU) and Harold Dixon (UA), actor Benjamin Stewart, and former head of the Arizona Commission on the Arts, Shelly Cohn.

2010 Arizona Theatre Service Award recipient Judy Rollings (center) with Phoenix/Tucson Liaison Committee members Elaine "E.E." Moe, Maren MacLean, Tony Hodges, Charles St. Clair and Larry Soller.
Photo credit: Laura Durant, Durant Communications


Award pages:

Arizona Theatre Service
Diversity on Broadway
Spirit of Diversity

Max McQueen

The Arizona Theatre Service Award is given by Equity members in Arizona, to recognize individuals who have contributed to the health and visibility of live theatre in their state. "Arizona is possessed of a rich cultural community and is blessed with partners who are deeply deserving of public appreciation for their work in bringing theatre to the people of our communities," said Equity liaison committee members Charles St. Clair and Mark DeMichele

Recipients of the Arizona Theatre Service Award are:

Year Recipient
2003 Max McQueen
2004 Harold Dixon & David Vining
2005 Benjamin Stewart
2007 Shelley Cohn
2010 Judy Rollings

Home | Members Only | About Equity | Member Benefits | Document Library
FAQ | News and Media | Membership Department | Contact

© 2018 . Actors' Equity Association. Terms of Use | Privacy