AEA Logo

The Equity Awards

Members Only

  About Equity Home
  Equity Government
  Offices & Staff
  Contracts & Codes
  AEA Foundation


The Lucy Jordan Award


Connie McMillan

Connie McMillan

Actors' Equity Association (Equity) announced today that Austin resident Connie McMillan is the 2011 Lucy Jordan Humanitarian Award recipient. The award, which honors an individual in the theatrical community, will be presented at Equity’s Austin/San Antonio Annual Membership meeting on Saturday, February 11, 2012.

Ms. McMillan, who was nominated for the award by actors, producers, patrons and critics alike, has been an integral part of the theater community in Austin for more than 40 years. She is an avid theater-goer, and can be found in theaters, attending theater festivals and theater conferences. Nominators describe her as “the ultimate Theater Person.”

Slideshow image

<   previous       next   >

“Loving theatre the way I do, I was so grateful to be able to contribute to the profession behind the scenes and I never wanted any recognition since the production IS the reward,” said Ms. McMillan. “But this honor is most welcome since it comes from other professionals who understand fully what it takes to make the magic happen.”

Born in Lubbock, her love of the arts was established early by parents who encouraged her to participate in and make the arts an important part of her life. After earning her Bachelor of Arts and Master of Arts in English Literature from Texas Tech University, Ms. McMillan moved to Austin to attend graduate school at the University of Texas where she earned her Ph.D. in English Literature. She worked as the Box Office Manager for the University of Texas Performing Arts Center for 23 years. Since 2000, she has combined her love of theater and education through part-time work for the University Interscholastic League, which hosts the One-Act Play Contest for high schools in the state of Texas, the largest play festival of its kind. She has also served on the nominating committee for the B. Iden Payne Awards, which recognizes excellence in Austin theater. In addition, she audio-described live performances of theater and opera for patrons who are blind or have limited vision.

The Lucy Jordan Humanitarian Award is the only recognition given by Equity’s Western Regional Board. It was established by the Stage Managers Committee in 1992 to honor and commemorate the unflagging spirit of former Western Region Business Field Rep Lucy Jordan, who passed away that same year.


Award pages:

Arizona Theatre Service
Diversity on Broadway
Spirit of Diversity

Lucy Finney Jordan began her career as a ballerina and danced as a musical chorus gypsy. She met Glenn Jordan, a Stage Manager, and fell in love, becoming a wife and mother. Later, when Glenn became a producer, she wore the hat of Associate Producer for the Los Angeles Civic Light Opera. When Glenn passed away, she knew she still needed the theatre in her life, and applied and was accepted for the position of Field Representative for the Western Region of AEA.

Lucy Jordan was a friend, advisor, and confidante to principals, chorus and stage managers alike. Whether at auditions, first rehearsals, opening nights or membership meetings, her office was open to all; and her home phone number was given to, and used by, many who needed to resolve an emergency or seek an opinion. For many people in the Western Region, Lucy Jordan was the face of the union. Ms. Jordan died on May 15, 1992 and this award in her honor was created that same year.

Recipients of the Lucy Jordan Recognition Award are:

    • 2017 - Michelle Polgar, Managing Director of the Mary Moody Northern Theatre at St. Edwards University
    • 2016 - Jay C. Sarno, San Diego arts leader
    • 2015 - No award given
    • 2014 - Mary Lou Westerfield, AEA Western Regional Director/Asst. Exec. Dir.
    • 2013 - Richard Connema , theatre critic
    • 2012 - Glenn Bruner, stage manager
    • 2011 - Connie McMillan, theatre supporter
    • 2010 - Lynne Soffer, actress, acting coach, teacher, and dialect coach
    • 2009 - Diane Ronneberg, wardrobe mistress and dresser
    • 2008 - Christopher Comte, Membership Director, Seattle Local AFTRA
    • 2007 - Rick Starr, Hollywood Sheet Music
    • 2006 - Don Toner, Managing Artistic Director/ Producer of the Austin Playhouse
    • 2005 - Dirk van Allen, actor and tireless theatre advocate
    • 2004 - Gordon Davidson, Artistic Director and Producer of Center Theatre Group
    • 2003 - Joseph Ruskin, Actor & AEA Councillor
    • 2002 - No award given
    • 2001 - Dr. Barry A. Kohn, Director & Physician of the Actors’ Fund Free Clinic
    • 2000 - Shawn Newmann, Western Regional Board Secretary
    • 1999 - Gary Marthaler, member of the Wardrobe Union
    • 1998 - Frank M. Young, Founder, President and CEO of Theatre Under The Stars and Executive Director of 5th Avenue Musical Theatre
    • 1997 - John Cauble, Signatory for Guest Artist for Universities
    • 1996 - Patricia MacDonald, House Manager of the Doolittle Theatre
    • 1995 - Tom Rolla, Gardenia Night Club
    • 1994 - Keith Stava, San Bernardino Civic Light Opera
    • 1993 - Howard Caine, Actor
    • 1992 - Iggie Wolfington, Actor & AEA Councillor Emeritus

Home | Members Only | About Equity | Member Benefits | Document Library
FAQ | News and Media | Membership Department | Contact

© 2018 . Actors' Equity Association. Terms of Use | Privacy