AEA Logo

The Equity Awards

Members Only

  About Equity Home
  Equity Government
  Offices & Staff
  Contracts & Codes
  AEA Foundation


The Lucy Jordan Award


Actors' Equity Association (Equity) announced today that Lynne Soffer is the winner of the 2010 Lucy Jordan Humanitarian Award. The presentation of the award, which honors an individual in the theatrical community, will be made at the April 26, 2011 Equity Membership Meeting in San Francisco.

Ms. Soffer, who resides in the Bay area, has made her name as an actress, acting coach and teacher and nationally recognized dialect coach. She is acknowledged by her peers in the profession as an individual who loves acting and is willing to share that enthusiasm, knowledge and experience with both students and young actors entering the industry. In addition to her body of work, Ms. Soffer is also known for her generosity of spirit, and her selfless dedication to those in the theater world who have been ill and in need.

An Equity member since 1981, she most recently appeared in the San Jose Repertory production of THE DRESSER. Other stage credits include ENCHANTED APRIL, HEARTBREAK HOUSE, SLAVS! and RABBIT HOLE, to name a few. As a dialect coach, Ms. Soffer has worked on over 190 productions for productions at numerous theaters including Berkeley Rep, A.C.T., Seattle Rep, San Jose Rep, The Old Globe (San Diego), Magic Theatre, Marin Theatre Company, Aurora Theatre and PCPA Theaterfest. She was a dialect coach for the world premiere of Moises Kaufman's THE LARAMIE PROJECT, and coached the dialects for Jonathan Moscone and Sean Daniels' NICHOLAS NICKLEBY, PARTS 1 & 2 at Cal Shakes. As an instructor of acting, text and speech, Ms. Soffer has taught at schools and theater companies throughout the country.

The Lucy Jordan Humanitarian Award (LJHA) is the only recognition award given by Equity's Western Regional Board. It was established by the Stage Managers Committee in 1992 to commemorate the unflagging spirit of former Western Region Business Field Rep, Lucy Jordan, who passed away unexpectedly that year. The LJHA is given to honor any members of the extended theatrical family who go above and beyond the call of duty.

Actors' Equity Association, founded in 1913, is the oldest performing arts union in the nation and represents more than 49,000 professional stage actors and stage managers. Equity seeks to advance, promote and foster the art of live theatre as an essential component of our society. Equity negotiates wages and working conditions and provides a wide range of benefits for its members. Equity is a member of the AFL-CIO and is affiliated with FIA, an international organization of performing arts unions.


Award pages:

Arizona Theatre Service
Diversity on Broadway
Spirit of Diversity

Lucy Finney Jordan began her career as a ballerina and danced as a musical chorus gypsy. She met Glenn Jordan, a Stage Manager, and fell in love, becoming a wife and mother. Later, when Glenn became a producer, she wore the hat of Associate Producer for the Los Angeles Civic Light Opera. When Glenn passed away, she knew she still needed the theatre in her life, and applied and was accepted for the position of Field Representative for the Western Region of AEA.

Lucy Jordan was a friend, advisor, and confidante to principals, chorus and stage managers alike. Whether at auditions, first rehearsals, opening nights or membership meetings, her office was open to all; and her home phone number was given to, and used by, many who needed to resolve an emergency or seek an opinion. For many people in the Western Region, Lucy Jordan was the face of the union. Ms. Jordan died on May 15, 1992 and this award in her honor was created that same year.

Recipients of the Lucy Jordan Recognition Award are:

  • 2017 - Michelle Polgar, Managing Director of the Mary Moody Northern Theatre at St. Edwards University
  • 2016 - Jay C. Sarno, San Diego arts leader
  • 2015 - No award given
  • 2014 - Mary Lou Westerfield, AEA Western Regional Director/Asst. Exec. Dir.
  • 2013 - Richard Connema , theatre critic
  • 2012 - Glenn Bruner, stage manager
  • 2011 - Connie McMillan, theatre supporter
  • 2010 - Lynne Soffer, actress, acting coach, teacher, and dialect coach
  • 2009 - Diane Ronneberg, wardrobe mistress and dresser
  • 2008 - Christopher Comte, Membership Director, Seattle Local AFTRA
  • 2007 - Rick Starr, Hollywood Sheet Music
  • 2006 - Don Toner, Managing Artistic Director/ Producer of the Austin Playhouse
  • 2005 - Dirk van Allen, actor and tireless theatre advocate
  • 2004 - Gordon Davidson, Artistic Director and Producer of Center Theatre Group
  • 2003 - Joseph Ruskin, Actor & AEA Councillor
  • 2002 - No award given
  • 2001 - Dr. Barry A. Kohn, Director & Physician of the Actors’ Fund Free Clinic
  • 2000 - Shawn Newmann, Western Regional Board Secretary
  • 1999 - Gary Marthaler, member of the Wardrobe Union
  • 1998 - Frank M. Young, Founder, President and CEO of Theatre Under The Stars and Executive Director of 5th Avenue Musical Theatre
  • 1997 - John Cauble, Signatory for Guest Artist for Universities
  • 1996 - Patricia MacDonald, House Manager of the Doolittle Theatre
  • 1995 - Tom Rolla, Gardenia Night Club
  • 1994 - Keith Stava, San Bernardino Civic Light Opera
  • 1993 - Howard Caine, Actor
  • 1992 - Iggie Wolfington, Actor & AEA Councillor Emeritus

Home | Members Only | About Equity | Member Benefits | Document Library
FAQ | News and Media | Membership Department | Contact

© 2018 . Actors' Equity Association. Terms of Use | Privacy