AEA Logo

The Equity Awards

Members Only

  About Equity Home
  Equity Government
  Offices & Staff
  Contracts & Codes
  AEA Foundation


The Lucy Jordan Award

Don Toner Receives Equity's 2006 Lucy Jordan Award

Don Toner
photo by Barry Michael Miller

Friday, October 6, 2006 in Los Angeles

Don Toner, Managing Artistic Director/ Producer of the Austin Playhouse, received this year's Lucy Jordan Award at the fall Equity membership meeting in Los Angeles on October 6, 2006. The award is given annually by the Western Regional Stage Managers Committee to recognize an individual in the Western Region who has best exemplified the spirit of Lucy Jordan, recognizing "an extraordinary and exemplary commitment" to the theatre community and the membership of Actors' Equity.

In keeping with the spirit and purpose of the Lucy Jordan Award, Don Toner definitely goes above and beyond the call of duty when it comes to providing jobs for our members. He has consistently led and supported the Austin arts community and does whatever is necessary to see that Actors are well taken care of. He is well-deserving of this award.

Toner, who lives and works in Austin, has been a pillar of the professional theatre scene in Texas for almost twenty years. He moved to Texas from Los Angeles in 1987 to work at the Live Oak Theatre, where, as Producing Artistic Director, he upgraded the Live Oak to a Small Professional Theatre (SPT) contract. Quickly immersing himself in Austin's vibrant arts community, he began to nurture the careers of dozens of actors, playwrights, designers, technicians who were drawn by his energy, enthusiasm and "hands-on" approach to directing and producing.

"When Don arrived, he proceeded to develop what has become a vibrant membership in Actors' Equity, raising the bar numerous times in the quality of Austin theatre," said AEA Councillor Bill McMillin, who is Chair of the Austin/San Antonio Area Liaison Committee. "He challenged other theatres and producers to step up to the plate and pay professional wages and benefits, which has ultimately spawned several new SPT theatres, jobs and artistic opportunities."

Bill McMillin, Don Toner, Dirk Van Allen
photo by Barry Michael Miller

In 1994, the Live Oak theatre moved to the historic State Theatre on Congress Avenue. Three years later, Toner supervised a $3 million design and renovation. "When people say that Don Toner built the State Theater Company, they aren't speaking just figuratively," reported the Austin Chronicle. "Toner has been wielding hammers, saws, and screw drivers, just about every implement in the toolbox, to construct sets, stages, seating areas, lobbies and offices." Toner continued to serve as its Producing Artistic Director until 2000, supporting a core professional acting community that is active today, as well as developing new works by Texas-based playwrights like Larry L. King and Carter W. Lewis.

In the fall of 2000 Mr. Toner founded a new Equity theatre, the Austin Playhouse, where he currently serves as Producing Artistic Director. In the summer of 2002 he supervised construction of Austin Playhouse's current home, a new two-venue performance facility at Austin's historic Penn Field.

This coming January will mark the nineteenth anniversary of his work in Austin. In addition to his roles as producer and director, he has co-authored the play Bosque County, Texas with Steve Fromholz and an adaptation of A CHRISTMAS CAROL with Ellsworth Schave. He instituted the Harvest Festival of New American Plays while at the State Theatre and produced several world premiere productions from festival participants. This spring he will continue the tradition of nurturing the next generation of American playwrights with a new play festival named after Texas playwright Larry L. King.


Award pages:

Arizona Theatre Service

Lucy Finney Jordan began her career as a ballerina and danced as a musical chorus gypsy. She met Glenn Jordan, a Stage Manager, and fell in love, becoming a wife and mother. Later, when Glenn became a producer, she wore the hat of Associate Producer for the Los Angeles Civic Light Opera. When Glenn passed away, she knew she still needed the theatre in her life, and applied and was accepted for the position of Field Representative for the Western Region of AEA.

Lucy Jordan was a friend, advisor, and confidante to principals, chorus and stage managers alike. Whether at auditions, first rehearsals, opening nights or membership meetings, her office was open to all; and her home phone number was given to, and used by, many who needed to resolve an emergency or seek an opinion. For many people in the Western Region, Lucy Jordan was the face of the union. Ms. Jordan died on May 15, 1992 and this award in her honor was created that same year.

Recipients of the Lucy Jordan Recognition Award are:Recipients of the Lucy Jordan Recognition Award are:

    • 2017 - Michelle Polgar, Managing Director of the Mary Moody Northern Theatre at St. Edwards University
    • 2016 - Jay C. Sarno, San Diego arts leader
    • 2015 - No award given
    • 2014 - Mary Lou Westerfield, AEA Western Regional Director/Asst. Exec. Dir.
    • 2013 - Richard Connema , theatre critic
    • 2012 - Glenn Bruner, stage manager
    • 2011 - Connie McMillan, theatre supporter
    • 2010 - Lynne Soffer, actress, acting coach, teacher, and dialect coach
    • 2009 - Diane Ronneberg, wardrobe mistress and dresser
    • 2008 - Christopher Comte, Membership Director, Seattle Local AFTRA
    • 2007 - Rick Starr, Hollywood Sheet Music
    • 2006 - Don Toner, Managing Artistic Director/ Producer of the Austin Playhouse
    • 2005 - Dirk van Allen, actor and tireless theatre advocate
    • 2004 - Gordon Davidson, Artistic Director and Producer of Center Theatre Group
    • 2003 - Joseph Ruskin, Actor & AEA Councillor
    • 2002 - No award given
    • 2001 - Dr. Barry A. Kohn, Director & Physician of the Actors’ Fund Free Clinic
    • 2000 - Shawn Newmann, Western Regional Board Secretary
    • 1999 - Gary Marthaler, member of the Wardrobe Union
    • 1998 - Frank M. Young, Founder, President and CEO of Theatre Under The Stars and Executive Director of 5th Avenue Musical Theatre
    • 1997 - John Cauble, Signatory for Guest Artist for Universities
    • 1996 - Patricia MacDonald, House Manager of the Doolittle Theatre
    • 1995 - Tom Rolla, Gardenia Night Club
    • 1994 - Keith Stava, San Bernardino Civic Light Opera
    • 1993 - Howard Caine, Actor
    • 1992 - Iggie Wolfington, Actor & AEA Councillor Emeritus

Home | Members Only | About Equity | Member Benefits | Document Library
FAQ | News and Media | Membership Department | Contact

© 2018 . Actors' Equity Association. Terms of Use | Privacy